So many who are gluten free often wonder is there is gluten in wine. I spoke to a winemaker and got all of the information to help guide you in deciding if wine is okay for you.
Is There Gluten In Wine?
I learned something new at the Gluten & Allergy Free Expo last weekend and it is something I think you should know about. It was an odd discovery made on the second day of the Expo while wandering through the last half of the vendor section. I saw a couple of vintners. Why would a wine company pay to have a table at a gluten free expo? I needed to find out, so I approached the Siduri Wines table.
After speaking to Catherine, a gluten free employee at Siduri Wines, I learned there was more to this then a quick explanation. We decided it would be best if I interviewed one of the owners of Siduri, Adam Lee.
Now I know this is a blog dedicated to dining out gluten free, but many people who are gluten free drink wine when they dine out, including yours truly. I feel it is important to know all potential sources of gluten contamination when dining out.”
If you are new to gluten free, I wrote a handy guide to help you get started in learning to live a gluten free lifestyle.
As I mentioned earlier, one of Siduri’s employees has a gluten allergy. Adam told me this really opened his eyes to the potential gluten issues. He felt this could be a big factor because so many people discovered they couldn’t tolerate gluten. After research, Adam discovered many oak wine barrels are sealed with a flour paste.
Why are barrels sealed in flour paste?
The flour paste seals the croze or the groove in which the barrel headrests. It doesn’t matter where the barrels are manufactured, Hungary, France, or America. Using a flour paste was standard practice in making these wine barrels. Adam recalls looking in barrels, some clean inside and others with caked-on flour paste.
Every wine barrel used at Siduri Wines is washed thoroughly and sanitized before it is used to remove this flour paste. Some vintners are turning to using wax to seal the croze. A few others are now moving towards steel barrels.
NOTE: Many wineries use aluminum barrels with oak chips for their winemaking process and this wine has no gluten.”
**Want to learn more about gluten and the wine barrel process? There is a great article in Wine Spectator that goes into more depth about gluten in wine barrels that you can read here.
Siduri Wines is one of the few winemakers to have all of their wines tested for gluten. They use a wine analysis company called ETS Labs. ETS Labs uses an ELISA test to determine if there is gluten in the wine. The cost to test their wines for gluten is minimal, and the return, the peace of mind, is worth it to Adam and Dianna. Adam was also happy to say that none of Siduri’s wines have ever tested positive for containing gluten.
You can read more about Siduri Wine’s specialized winemaking process here.
While you are here, don’t forget to grab some delicious Gluten Free Appetizer Recipes to try with your wine!!
Your go-to haven for gluten-free living, where I share hundreds of delicious, family-friendly recipes, helpful gluten-free resources, and allergen-friendly options for everyone!