Imagine you’re at a party, and the host gives you a glass of champagne to celebrate with. If you’re new to the gluten-free lifestyle, you may wonder if champagne is gluten-free.

Gluten is sneaky and can be in the most random places. In this post, let’s dive into what champagne is and if it’s safe to drink for those in the gluten free community.

Bottles of champagne on ice in an ice bucket.

What Is Champagne?

Champagne is known as a drink for celebrations. Champagne is a type of wine that originated in Champagne, France. It is a white wine that is famous for its bubbly nature. Champagne is different from other sparkling wines because it has to be made from grapes harvested in Champagne, France.

The grapes are first juiced, fermented, bottled, then fermented with other ingredients. This second fermentation is what creates the bubbles in champagne. A bottle of good champagne can be a bit pricey, which is why it is usually saved for special occasions.

You can read all about which alcohol is gluten free on my Alcohol List. It includes beer, wine, and hard alcohol.

Answer: Is Champagne Gluten-Free?

Yes, high-quality and pure champagne should be gluten-free. This is because champagne only has three ingredients: grape juice, yeast, and sugar. In addition, the yeast used for champagne is not from a gluten source, so champagne should be safe for those with celiac disease or gluten intolerance. 

Please know that champagne and alcohol brewers are not required to include allergen statements on their bottles. That means that whether or not a bottle of wine has gluten, the manufacturer does not have to label it. Some brands have information about the wine’s gluten content on their websites, but many do not. 

One thing to look for is champagne aged in oak barrels. Some of these oak barrels may have a flour paste sealing the croze. You can read more about this and the testing done on wine in this article. Gluten Watchdog tested gluten in wines from flour paste-sealed barrels, and the wine was still under 20 ppm. I also discuss this in my article Is Wine Gluten Free?

Though champagne is naturally gluten-free, some brands may include other flavorings and preservatives that aren’t gluten-free. So, if you want to celebrate with a glass of champagne, read the label to ensure it only has the basic ingredients. That way, you can enjoy the sparkling wine without any worry! 

Most champagne brands will not have cross-contamination issues because most manufacturers specialize in one type of wine. Especially with a wine like champagne! 

You may have to pay a bit more for a glass of better, purer champagne, but it is well worth spending more and preventing any issues later down the line. 

Brands of Gluten Free Champagne:

The brands on this list have not provided information about gluten on their websites. Still, the gluten-free community has deemed them safe. Read the labels to ensure the bottle of champagne you’re buying only has the basic ingredients.

  • Korbel
  • Andre
  • Barefoot
  • Veuve
  • Andre Brut
  • Moet
Disclaimer image

Fearless Dining

Your go-to haven for gluten-free living, where I share hundreds of delicious, family-friendly recipes, helpful gluten-free resources, and allergen-friendly options for everyone!

2 Comments

  1. Thanks so much for writing up this post. Had no ideas that the barrier oak barrels and the way that they are aged could be an issue. All good things to take note of. Take Care

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *