If you love melty cheese, chances are you have tried Velveeta Cheese. Its soft and creamy texture makes it the perfect cheese for your favorite recipes.

Velveeta also has great melting properties making it a great choice for your much-loved dips recipes. You may wonder, is Velveeta gluten free?

A slice of velveeta cheese.

What is Velveeta?

Velveeta is an iconic American brand of processed cheese manufactured by Kraft Foods in the United States.

Velveeta is that bright orange color processed cheese product that you notice quickly as you scan the shelves at the grocery store. It comes in a big colorful yellow box. Velveeta is considered the ultimate American comfort food.

The main ingredients include milk, milk protein concentrate, whey, whey protein concentrate, milk fat, canola oil, and water. Other ingredients added in small quantities include salt, sodium alginate, calcium phosphate, cheese culture, annatto, lactic acid, sorbic acid, apocarotenal, and enzymes.

It has a much longer shelf-life than regular natural cheeses because it is processed and, as such, will keep well at room temperature.

While you are here, check out my research on whether these meal ingredients are gluten free.

Velveeta cheese in the refrigerated section of the grocery store.

Answer: Is Velveeta Gluten Free?

Good news! I am happy to say that Velveeta is gluten free! It is principally made from cheese and other ingredients of dairy origin, which are all gluten free by nature. Besides, Kraft Foods has a trusted policy to reveal any allergen on its food label if used as an ingredient in manufacturing any of its products.

People with celiac disease and gluten intolerance can enjoy Velveeta without fearing adverse reactions. The gluten free and celiac communities consider Velveeta gluten free.

As always, you never know when a company will change their recipe or where they manufacture food, so always read the ingredients label of any food you buy to ensure it is gluten free.

Note: Velveeta Shells & Cheese is not gluten free because it contains gluten ingredients. The macaroni in the food is made with wheat flour, which contains the highest amount of gluten.

Substitutes For Velveeta

If you cannot find Velveeta cheese, two easy-to-find gluten-free substitutes include Kraft’s American Cheese and Cheez Whiz.

A bowl filled with melted cheese dip.

How To Use Velveeta Cheese:

Velveeta is popular for quick cheese sauces as it melts so well when cooked under medium heat. Everyone loves its smooth and creamy texture!

  • Velveeta Cheese Dip and cheese sauce are two trendy, easy-to-make-at-home recipes with Velveeta cheese.
  • Velveeta cheese also pairs well with tortilla chips. Its mild flavor makes a good combination with the flavors of Doritos chips. These are easy snack ideas for your day-to-day consumption or a birthday party. It should be noted that the only gluten-free Doritos chips are Doritos Toasted Corn Tortilla Chips.
  • Velveeta cheese also pairs well with grilled or barbecued meat. Ground beef recipes like a ground beef casserole are delicious mouthwatering ideas for family gatherings.
  • Velveeta is a great way to get kids to eat their veggies! Drizzle melted Velveeta over broccoli or cauliflower!
Disclaimer image

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


  1. I have never had Velvita cheese or macaroni and cheese. I have allergies to milk. However, it is interesting to know that it is gluten free

    1. I haven’t bought Velveeta in years, but I know many love it for making mac and cheese. I have been fond of VioLife dairy-free cheeses lately. Have you tried them yet?