Jello is a popular dessert made from gelatin. It is a fun treat for almost everyone. It is irresistible because of its bright colors and fun flavors. Since jello is a trendy dessert, many want to know if jello is gluten free?
What is Jello?
Jello is produced from gelatin which is a protein produced from animal collagen. Collagen is the main protein in the connective tissues, abundant in body parts like the skin, bones, ligaments, tendons, hair, and nails.
Gelatin is made with the bones and hides of animals like cattle and pigs. It is treated with chemicals to become a gel. This gel is later filtered, evaporated, dried, and ground. It is now fine, brittle, colorless, and odorless solid gelatin.
The gelatin obtained is then sweetened, flavored, colored, and boxed. When Jello powder is added to boiling water, then cooled, forming a semi-solid gelatinous substance, with a wiggly texture called jello. Sugar-free jello is made with aspartame replacing sugar.
Jello is definitely NOT vegan, so many who are vegan use vegan gelatin made from agar agar. If you love sweets, you can check out what candy is gluten free.
Answer: Is Jello Gluten Free?
The good news is jello is gluten free! It can be eaten and enjoyed by those who have both celiac disease and gluten intolerance. Also, note that vegan jello is also gluten free!
Jello is also dairy-free and egg-free, making it a great dessert for those with other food allergies. Many hospitals offer jello to patients coming out of surgery or procedures because it is so mild on the stomach.
Note, if you are celiac or gluten-sensitive, always read the label as it is possible for cross-contamination scenarios of jello. It is usually produced in a company where other gluten-containing products are made or a company with traces of gluten. If the jello is gluten free, be listed on the ingredients label.
- Kraft Foods. It is a renowned producer of jello in the United States with popular jello like JELL-O Strawberry, JELL-O Vanilla Instant, JELL-O Blueberry Gelatin, and JELL-O Sugar-Free Citrus Gelatin Mix.
- Knox Gelatine. It adds no additives to its jello.
- Great Lakes Kosher Gelatin (for those who want to flavor their own!)
- Simply Delish (vegan)
How To Enjoy Jello:
Jello can be purchased premade, or you can buy a packaged powder and make one for yourself. Jello can be eaten in different ways based on the product in question. They can be scooped out using a spoon and eaten, or just handpicked and eaten if they come diced as cubes.
One of my favorite ways to enjoy jello is using it to make jello shots! A jello shot is an alcoholic beverage made by mixing gelatin and alcohol and doing it as a shot. Vodka jello shot is one of the most popular jello shots made using vodka as a source of alcohol.
Jello has a wriggly texture, a colorful and flavorful dessert popularly consumed in the United States. It is gluten-free, which is a great relief for the gluten-sensitive population. However, gluten-sensitive persons should always read the label as it is possible for cross-contamination scenarios of jello. It is usually produced in a company where other gluten-containing products are made or a company with traces of gluten. If the jello is gluten free as it usually should, it will carry that labeling. It is also a low-calorie dessert, making it suitable for most people.
If you love the recipes you find on my blog, I would love for you to sign up for my newsletter (and get my free gluten free lemon dessert e-cookbook!)
Leave a Reply