Smirnoff Ice is a popular drink, especially on hot summer days. But, before you take a swig of this drink, it’s a good idea to stop and ask yourself, is Smirnoff Ice gluten free?

A photo of a six pack of Smirnoff Ice.

Whether you’re on a night out with friends or eyeing the cooler at a poolside backyard barbecue, a crisp, cold beverage always pairs well with a good time…but only if it’s safe to drink.

For example, suppose you have celiac disease or are sensitive to gluten. In that case, you already know to avoid most beers and other wheat- or barley-based drinks, but the contents of drinks like seltzers and canned cocktails are a little more varied in their ingredients.

Be sure to check out my articles on which alcoholic liquors, beers, and wines are gluten free!

What Is Smirnoff Ice?

Smirnoff Ice is a carbonated alcoholic beverage that typically comes in citrus or berry flavors. It’s sold internationally and is marketed as a lighter, more refreshing alternative to beer. Smirnoff Ice is sold in both can and bottle form.

Answer: Is Smirnoff Ice Gluten Free?

The answer depends on which country you’re getting your Smirnoff Ice in. Unfortunately, different countries have different formulas for this carbonated alcoholic beverage. In the US and France, Smirnoff Ice contains malt, meaning that US-made Smirnoff Ice is not gluten free and should be avoided by people with severe gluten allergies and celiac disease. 

For those with less severe sensitivity, it’s probably best to avoid them in favor of other alcoholic drinks since Smirnoff hasn’t released an ingredient list. It’s impossible to know precisely how much malt (and, therefore, gluten) is in the drink.

Smirnoff Ice Ingredients:

Smirnoff has not publicized the ingredients of their US-made Smirnoff Ice line. Still, they advertise it as a “flavored malt beverage,” so it’s safe to assume that malt is somewhere on that list.

In addition, it’s easier to find the ingredients for Smirnoff Ice sold in other countries. It shouldn’t be this hard to know if a product is gluten free! This list doesn’t reveal much about the ingredients in Smirnoff Ice made in the United States, as the brand’s recipes differ. 

As an example, here are the ingredients in Smirnoff Ice sold in Canada:

  • Carbonated water
  • Sugar
  • Vodka
  • Sodium citrate
  • Natural and artificial flavors
  • Sodium benzoate
  • Acacia gum
  • Potassium sorbate
  • Coconut oil and/or palm kernel oil
  • Potassium metabisulphite

It may be safe to assume that some of these ingredients are present in Smirnoff Ice sold in the US. In addition, because of the U.S. label, we know of at least one additional ingredient in the U.S. recipe: malt.

Malt is made from partially germinating grains like wheat, rye, barley, rice, and corn. Including wheat, rye, or barley (the main three grains containing the protein gluten) makes any product it’s made with unsafe for those with celiac disease or gluten sensitivity. 

Two glasses with smirnoff ice. They are garnished with lemon and a rosemary sprig.

Gluten Free Smirnoff Ice Alternatives:

Luckily, there are some really good gluten free alternatives for Smirnoff Ice that you can enjoy. Here is a good list so you can try to find them in a grocery store near you!

  • High Noon Hard Seltzer
  • White Claw Hard Seltzer
  • Truly Hard Seltzer
  • Bud Light Seltzer (the US only)
  • Bon & Viv Spiked Seltzer
Disclaimer image

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *