A.1. is a popular steak sauce many people love eating on their steak and burgers. A.1. is also served at most steak houses and is available for sale at most grocery stores. You may wonder if A1 sauce is safe. Is A1 gluten free?

A bottle of A1 steak sauce.

What Is A1 Steak Sauce?

A.1. is a savory brown sauce made by Kraft Company. This sauce is poured onto burgers and steak to add more flavor. The sauce was created in 1862, which is why there is a date on the front product label.

In a funny bit of trivia, did you know that A1 was created by the personal chef for King George as a way to hide the flavor of old beef? It makes sense, given vinegar is a meat tenderizer and raisins can help slow decay!

Be sure to check out my other articles to see what condiments are gluten free.

A1 Steak Sauce Ingredients:

It is a condiment made with the following ingredients:

  • Tomato Puree
  • Vinegar
  • Corn Syrup
  • Salt
  • Raisin Paste
  • Crushed Orange Puree
  • Spices
  • Dried Garlic
  • Caramel Color
  • Dried Onion
  • Xanthan Gum
  • Potassium Sorbate

A.1. comes in several flavors, but their Original is the most popular. Kraft does not get their products certified gluten free, but Kraft is known to be good at labeling their products regarding allergens.

Answer: Is A.1. Gluten Free?

Is A.1. sauce gluten free? The answer is “maybe.” If you have Celiac Disease or are gluten sensitive, you must decide whether to use A.1.

Kraft states there are no gluten ingredients in A.1. Kraft is good at labeling their products, so if a Kraft product says gluten free, it usually is safe. If Kraft doesn’t label gluten-free products but has no gluten ingredients, you do not know if it is safe for those with Celiac Disease and gluten intolerance.

In the past, A.1. was made with “spirit vinegar,” which is completely gluten free due to the distillation process. Their labels now read just “vinegar.” I am unsure when this change occurred, nor can I find what vinegar they now use.

Caramel color is an ingredient that may or may not contain hidden gluten. In the U.S., caramel color is “usually” gluten free. It is very important to find out from the manufacturer because caramel color can also come from malt, which is not gluten free.

Gluten Free Steak Sauce Options:

  • Lea & Perrins Steak Sauce – Kraft also makes this sauce, but it is labeled gluten free.
  • Primal Chef – Gluten free and paleo.
  • Dales Steak Sauce
  • G Hughes
  • Rufus Teague
  • Bone Sucking Steak Sauce

Many also love ketchup, so see Is Ketchup Gluten Free too.

In Summary

A.1. is most likely gluten-free, but it has a couple of red flag ingredients that pause me. I will not use this product because it isn’t worth the risk.

Disclaimer image

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *