Airheads are a candy sensation that kids love. You will frequently see these given out at Halloween. Before you let your kids eat Airheads, but sure to ask Are Airheads Gluten Free?

A package of airheads candy.

Answer: Are Airheads Gluten Free?

The answer to whether Airheads are gluten free will depend on the variety you buy. One product is labeled gluten-free, and others are not because they are not tested or contain wheat.

At this time, Airheads only has one product that they label gluten free. As you can see in the photo below, they have a gluten free label under the ingredients label.

What Are Airheads?

Airheads are a chewy, gummy candy that comes in many flavors, shapes, and colors. This candy is manufactured by Perfetti Van Melle in Italy. This company started manufacturing candy back in 1900. It is now sold globally. Much of their candy sold in the U.S. are made in their Kentucky plant.

As I mentioned above, this candy is frequently seen around Halloween. It is sold at most grocery stores, gas stations, and convenience stores. You will even find this candy in vending machines.

As a parent, it is important to help teach our children how to check to see if candy is safe to eat. You can see if candies like DOTS are gluten free.

Children often do not stop to look at the ingredient labels. It is a critical life skill to help teach them how to manage their disease or condition. Airheads make many varieties, and you will need to look at each one separately to see if they are safe for those on a gluten-free diet.

Be sure to check out all of my write-ups to determine what candy is gluten free on my Candy List.

Original Airheads Ingredients:

  • Sugar
  • Corn Syrup
  • Maltodextrin
  • Dextrose
  • Modified Food Starch
  • Palm Oil
  • Citric Acid
  • Artificial Colors and Flavors

See below for the lists of which Airheads are gluten free and which are not gluten free!

A photo of the airheads ingredients label.
This is the label of Original Airheads. They are the only product labeled gluten-free.

Gluten Free Airheads Products:

The original Airheads bars are the only Airheads candy that is labeled gluten free.

Airheads Products That Do Not Contain Gluten Ingredients:

These Airheads candies do not have any gluten-containing ingredients. Note that these products are NOT tested for gluten. Because we do not know if these products are below the 20 ppm gluten rule, eat them at your own risk.

  • Airheads Bites
  • Airheads Gum
  • Airheads Pops

Airheads That Are NOT Gluten Free:

These Airheads candy varieties contain wheat and are not gluten free. If you are celiac or have gluten intolerance, you can not eat these.

  • Airheads Xtremes Bites
  • Xtremes Belts
  • Ropes
  • Soft Filled Bites

Also, if you love fruity candies, read Are Jolly Ranchers Gluten Free and Are Skittles Gluten Free?

Disclaimer image

Fearless Dining

Your go-to haven for gluten-free living, where I share hundreds of delicious, family-friendly recipes, helpful gluten-free resources, and allergen-friendly options for everyone!

2 Comments

  1. This is awesome information!!! Thank you! Your site is the only place that is actually accurate for the nerds rope. Everyone else says gluten-free. My daughter got glutened by one and I thought it was safe because everywhere said safe. But when she started showing symptoms, I knew something was off. So I contacted the manufacturer and they confirmed it wasn’t gluten free. Then I saw your article. I wish I had seen yours before I gave it to her. But thank you for providing the best accurate information.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *