Rolos are a delicious combination of chocolate and caramel. Some caramels are made with barley, so anyone on a gluten-free diet must evaluate any food with caramel as an ingredient. Are Rolos Gluten Free?

An open roll of Rolos.

Answer: Are Rolos Gluten Free?

Yes, I am happy to say that Rolos are gluten-free! The manufacturer’s website above lists Rolo candies as gluten-free. Look at the photo below, Hershey also labels the package with a gluten-free icon.

What Are Rolos?

Rolos are bite-sized candies that come in a tube. They are chocolates with a caramel center. Hershey Candy Company makes Rolo Candy. Hershey has been making Rolos since 1969. Rolos are made in the U.S.A. under the Nestle brand label.

You can find Rolo candy for sale pretty much anywhere, including grocery stores, pharmacies, vending machines, movie theaters, and gas stations. They are very popular.

Rolos are also one of the most popular candies to get handed out on Halloween. If your kids are gluten free or have other food allergies, it is critical to help them sort their trick-or-treat candy into piles. My kids would give away any candy that contained gluten.

The FAQ from Hersheyland's website showing Rolos are gluten free.

🔑 Sandi says: It is important to note that Rolo Minis are NOT gluten free! If you look at the ingredients label, these have a declaration on the label that says Rolo Minis may contain wheat.

Gluten free symbol on a package of rolos.

Please know that although Rolo says their candy is gluten free, there is no indication on their website if Rolo is made on shared lines. Hershey’s is very good at declaring allergens, so I have to think they would only label candy gluten free if it is not made on shared lines.

Rolos Ingredients:

  • Sugar
  • Corn Syrup
  • High Fructose Corn Syrup
  • Skim Milk
  • Vegetable Oil (Palm Oil, Shea Oil, Sunflower Oil, Palm Kernel Oil, Safflower Oil)
  • Hydrogenated Vegetable Oil (Palm Kernel Oil, Soybean Oil)
  • Chocolate
  • Contains 2% or Less of:
  • Lactose
  • Salt
  • Lecithin
  • PGPR
  • Vanillin
  • Baking Soda

As always, if you have celiac disease or gluten intolerance, it is up to you to eat this candy. Note that Rolos are not dairy-free.

If you love chocolate, be sure to check what other candy is gluten-free. Are Milk Duds Gluten Free, Are Mike and Ike Gluten Free, and Are Snickers Gluten Free?

Disclaimer image

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *