Skittles are a rainbow-colored candy that is very popular. Their vivid, bright colors and chewy, fruity centers are a kid-favorite. Before you grab a bag at your local store, it is important to know, Are Skittles Gluten Free?
What Are Skittles?
Skittles are a colorful candy that is very popular. They come in several flavors, and you can buy bags of Skittles in several sizes. Their vivid, bright colors and chewy, bold fruity centers make them kid-favorites.
Find them at any local convenience store, pharmacy, vending machine, or grocery store. They are also popular to give out for Halloween's trick or treat.
Skittles are made by Mars Wrigley company. They make a lot of different candy brands, including Snickers, M&Ms, Milky Way, Starburst, and more.
Unfortunately, Mars nor their Skittles site do not put any allergen information on their website. At least they are no longer including this information that I could find after a lengthy search.
If you love fruity candy, you will also want to see the other candies I researched on my Candy List.
Answer: Are Skittles Gluten Free?
Although Skittles is not labeled or certified gluten free, the company lists its gluten-free candy on the back of the Skittles packages. This company honestly puts me off because it is hard to find information about their ingredients on their website. They have no allergen statement or mention if this candy is made on shared equipment.
I know my kids eat Skittles every Halloween, and they do not react, but it would be nice for the company to put this information either on the Skittles website or their parent company's Mars Wrigley website.
The good news is that Mars is very good about labeling allergens on their packaging, or I would not know if this candy was truly gluten free. Skittles has no gluten ingredients listed on the ingredients label and no red flag ingredients as you can see below.
Original - Original Skittles are gluten free.
Gummies - Skittles Gummies have no gluten-containing ingredients. I have to locate a bag to look at, but from what I see online, these gummies do not state they are gluten free on the package like regular Skittles do.
Skittles uses the same ingredients in most of their Skittles. The main differences are the flavors and food dyes used in each flavor. As you can see, there are no gluten-containing ingredients, and Skittles does label this candy gluten free on the back of their wrapper.
SUGAR, CORN SYRUP, HYDROGENATED PALM KERNEL OIL; LESS THAN 2% OF: CITRIC ACID, TAPIOCA DEXTRIN, MODIFIED CORN STARCH, NATURAL AND ARTIFICIAL FLAVORS, COLORS (RED 40 LAKE, YELLOW 5 LAKE, BLUE 2 LAKE, YELLOW 6 LAKE, TITANIUM DIOXIDE, BLUE 1 LAKE, YELLOW 6, RED 40, YELLOW 5, BLUE 1), SODIUM CITRATE, CARNAUBA WAX.
As you can see, there are no gluten ingredients listed.
- Wild Berry
Gluten Free Skittles Alternative:
If you are looking for a healthier alternative to Skittles, Yum Earth makes the only one, and the candy is called Yum Earth Giggles.
Skittles has come under fire with a brand new lawsuit (as of July 2020) due to the use of titanium dioxide in their candy. This is a brand new development based on the European Food Safety Authority ruling that titanium dioxide has the ability to damage a person's DNA. Titanium dioxide was removed from the European version of Skittles, but not the U.S. versions sold.
Are Skittles Vegan?
Yes, I am glad to say that Skittles are considered vegan because they are made without gelatin.
If you love fruity candy, also check out Are Airheads Gluten Free.
Simplifying the art of baking and cooking gluten-free recipes.