Mike and Ike is a fun, fruity candy that has been popular for many years. It comes in several fruity flavor varieties. Many wonder if it is safe for people who are celiac or gluten intolerant. Let’s dive in and see:ย Are Mike and Ike Gluten-Free?
This post may contain affiliate links. Please read our Disclosure Policy.
![A box of mike and ike candy on the counter.](https://www.fearlessdining.com/wp-content/uploads/2022/10/mike-and-ikes-hero.jpg)
Answer: Are Mike and Ikes Gluten Free?
Updated and verified to be accurate 9/25/24.
Just Born is a great company that labels its candy when it is gluten free. Mike and Ike’s candies are gluten-free, and you will see in the photo above and the ingredients label below that they list Mike and Ike Candy as gluten-free.
You can read their allergen statement on their website, which updated their packaging to reflect whether their candies are gluten free. (You can see it in the photo above!)
What Are Mike and Ikes Candies?
Mike and Ike are made by a company named Just Born. They not only make Ike and Mike, but they also make Hot Tamales, Peeps, Peanut Chews, and Teenee Beanee candies.
The company was founded in 1910 in New York. Their candies became popular all over the country. Mike and Ike hit their product line in 1940. You can find Mike and Ike for sale at many grocery stores, movie theaters, gas stations, pharmacies, and vending machines.
You can find Mike and Ike Candy in many flavors, including:
- Original Fruit
- Tropical Typhoon
- Berry Blast
- Red Rageous
- Jolly Joe’s
If you are a candy lover, check out my Candy List to identify what candy is safe and which is not safe for those on a gluten-free diet!
Email This Recipe To Me!
If you are on a gluten free diet because you have celiac disease or are gluten sensitive, it is critical to ensure the candy and foods you eat are free from gluten ingredients and in manufacturing.
This candy is a great, safe option for kids! If you are trick-or-treating, this is a good candy to hand out because most kids with food allergies can eat it. This brand of candy has no declared allergens.
While you are visiting my blog, be sure to check out Are Dots Gluten Free and Are Mentos Gluten Free? The latter may surprise you!
Mike and Ikes Ingredients:
- Sugar
- Corn Syrup
- Modified Food Starch (from corn)
- Citric Acid
- Malic Acid
- Fumaric Acid
- Sodium Citrate
- Natural and Artificial Flavors
- Dextrin
- Confectioner’s Glaze
- Carnauba Wax
- Food Colorings
In summary, Mike and Ike’s candy is gluten-free and safe for those on a gluten-free diet.