Sour Patch Kids are famous for making your face pucker. They are sweet and sour and come in many flavors. Check out my research if you are trying to decide if this candy is safe. Are Sour Patch Kids Gluten Free?

A box of sour patch kids on the counter.

Answer: Are Sour Patch Kids Gluten Free?

The answer is they are “probably” gluten-free. I tried to find out if Sour Patch Kids are gluten-free on the Sour Patch website. I then looked on their parent company site. I didn’t have much luck, so I did a chat. Below is a screenshot.

Mondelez chat screenshot.

What Are Sour Patch Kids?

Sour Patch Kids are sweet and sour tart gummy candy made by Mondelez International. These gummy candies come in many flavors, holiday shapes, and more.

Their flavor is famous for its sweet and sour flavor, making your mouth pucker up! These candies are found in most grocery stores, movie theaters, gas stations, and vending machines. Sour Patch candies are also very popular to give out at Halloween.

If you are a parent of a child with celiac disease or gluten sensitivity, it is very important to know whether candy is safe for your child. Halloween in our house is pretty organized. After trick-or-treating, we have our kids dump their candy out, and we sort through it all, removing any candy that is not gluten-free.

If you need help figuring out what candy is safe, you can check out this gluten-free candy list from

According to Mondelez, the product is considered gluten-free if a product has no warning on the label.

Sour Patch Kids has no warnings on the ingredient labels I have looked at, so I assume this candy is gluten-free. I also see no warning about cross-contact in the production line on the labels.

Although there are no gluten-containing ingredients, the manufacturer doesn’t test for gluten nor certify any of their products as gluten-free, so there will always be an element of risk. If you have celiac disease or gluten intolerance, it will be up to you to try the candy.

It will be a judgment call for parents sorting through mountains of Halloween candy who want to know if Sour Patch Kids are gluten-free. In prior years I have let my kids eat Sour Patch Kids they receive trick or treating. We did not notice any symptoms of getting glutened…but again, you will have to make your own choice,

Sour Patch Kids Ingredients:

Back of the box of sour patch kids.

As you can see from the label, the package does not contain gluten ingredients, contain no gluten warnings, or contain any allergen warnings. Although each flavor’s ingredients may vary slightly, the ingredients below match most of the products on the website. Note that some flavors do contain titanium dioxide, which is gluten-free.

  • Sugar
  • Invert Sugar
  • Corn Syrup
  • Modified Cornstarch
  • Tartaric Acid
  • Citric Acid
  • Natural and Artificial Flavors
  • Food Coloring

For more candy research, check out Are Milky Ways Gluten Free, Are Mike and Ike Gluten Free, and Are Skittles Gluten Free?

Disclaimer image

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *