Almond milk has become one of the most loved plant-based kinds of milk on the market in the blink of an eye. It’s a wonderful alternative to dairy products and can be used in place of milk in many applications. Many love the milk substitute just for its nutty taste!
It can be used in baking, coffee, and sometimes in cooking. We know it is lactose-free, but does it fit a gluten-free diet? Is it safe for those with celiac disease?
What Is Almond Milk?
Almonds originally come from the Middle East but have become popular all over the world. In the United States, they are primarily grown in California. The nut is toasted, ground up, and blended with filtered water to turn it into “milk.” Then, it is usually passed through a nut milk bag for a smoother end product.
You may see some Almond milk packaging with “Almondmilk” as one word. This is a shortened term for filtered water and almonds. Which is what plain almond milk stems from.
It has a nutty taste but does not taste overwhelmingly like almonds. Unlike homemade almond milk, most manufacturers add vitamins and nutrients to boost the milk alternative’s nutritional value.
Traditional dairy milk is much higher in protein than almond milk, but this shouldn't be too much if you have enough protein in your meals.
Almond milk has become one of the most loved kinds of nut milk because it is great for those with food allergies and lactose intolerance. It doesn’t contain soy, lactose, gluten, etc.
Remember that most store-bought almond milk brands have added sugar to give it a better flavor. There are plenty of unsweetened almond milk brands if you want to avoid this. This dairy alternative is also relatively easy to make at home if you want to have more control of what goes into the almond milk.
I primarily use almond milk in my baking. If you love to bake, be sure to see what baking ingredients are gluten free!
Answer: Is Almond Milk Gluten Free?
Good news! If you wonder if almond milk gluten free, regular almond milk is gluten-free! Almonds are naturally gluten-free; most manufacturers do not have cross-contamination issues with gluten.
However, some flavored almond milk has gluten-containing additives. When buying flavored almond milk, read the label carefully to ensure it’s a safe option.
Most flavored almond milk is gluten-free, but it is better to be safe than sorry! Many almond milk brands also make coconut milk, so give the label a read if you have a coconut allergy.
If you don’t have a tree nut allergy, almond milk is a suitable milk replacement. It’s available in almost all grocery stores, so you won’t have to worry about finding it either!
Read here to see Is Coconut Milk Gluten Free.
What Are Gluten-Containing Additives?
The additives in almond milk are not just for flavoring or nutrients. Many are added to give the milk a more palatable texture. These additives are the ones that tend to have gluten in them.
According to SF Gate’s article “Additives That Have Gluten,” some familiar names are on the label. “flour, emulsifier, food starch, modified food starch, dextrin, maltodextrin, and vegetable gum.” In the U.S., manufacturers need to declare if maltodextrin is made with wheat. (It is typically made from corn.) Vegetable gum is another ingredient that should be gluten free, but must be declared if it is made from wheat, barley, or rye.
Not all of these texture additives have gluten, as some come from corn and rice. In addition, some almond milk manufacturers’ websites have “smart labels” that explain where their additives derive from – Almond Breeze being one. Check out the manufacturer's website to learn more about the additives added to almond milk.
Brands Of Almond Milk:
Most almond milk brands and almond milk products are gluten free. But if buying flavored almond milk, check the ingredients list just in case. Below are some of the most popular gluten-free brands.
- Blue Diamond Almond Breeze - Original Almondmilk
- Blue Diamond Almond Breeze - Chocolate Almondmilk
- Pacific Foods Shelf-Stable Original Almond Milk
- Silk - Original Almond Milk
- Whole Foods 365 Organic Almond Milk
- New Barn - Barista Almond Milk
- So Delicious Almond Milk
- Califia Farms
- Trader Joe's Almond Milk
- Aldi SimplyNature Almond Milk
- O Organics Almond Milk
Read about all of the types of plant milk to know which are gluten free.
Read on to see Is Soy Milk Gluten Free?
Is Almond Milk Healthy?
Kind of. Almond milk itself has many vitamins and minerals that have numerous health benefits. One of the main ones is magnesium. This mineral is fantastic for maintaining blood sugar levels. The milk alternative also has a lot of Vitamin E, which helps lower the chances of strokes and heart disease.
If you’re buying almond milk, try to find one fortified with Vitamin D2. This is an important vitamin in cow’s milk that aids bone health.
Though almond milk has many health benefits, many commercial brands are high in sugar and carbs. Having a high sugar intake can cause health issues down the line. This isn't a huge issue if you’re not drinking too much almond milk. But, for those who drink a lot of milk, then it may be best to buy unsweetened almond milk.
Almond milk is gluten-free, so you do not have to worry about drinking it if you have celiac disease or gluten intolerance. However, flavored and sweetened almond milk may have gluten-containing additives, so give the label a quick read before purchasing.
Homemade Almond Milk Recipes:
If you want to try making homemade almond milk, here are a couple of recipes to try!
- This simple almond milk recipe is really easy to make.
- If you love chocolate, this chocolate almond milk recipe looks tasty!
Looking for more? Get my FREE Gluten Free Lemon Desserts E-Cookbook when you sign up for my weekly recipe newsletter!