Cereal has been a popular breakfast choice since the early 1900s and remains one of the most consumed breakfast options today, thanks to a wide variety of flavors and textures. One, in particular, Captain Crunch, has been a popular brand amongst adults and children since its creation in the early 1960s.

For those with gluten intolerance, sensitivity, or celiac disease, it’s essential to know exactly what’s in the box of each cereal when trying a new kind. So before picking up a spoon, you need to consider something: is Captain Crunch gluten free?

A box of Captain Crunch cereal.

Cereals are often made with grains like wheat, rye, and barley or are processed alongside products made with those grains. This means that even though cereal is marketed as gluten-free or doesn’t contain gluten ingredients, they are highly likely to be cross-contaminated.

Check out all of the cereals I have researched on my gluten free Cereal List.

What Is Captain Crunch Cereal?

Captain Crunch is a commercially produced and distributed corn- and oat-based cereal widely available in stores across the US. The original Captain Crunch consists of sweet, golden, rectangle-shaped puffs.

Of the five varieties of Captain Crunch cereal, the most popular by far is Captain Crunch’s Crunch Berries. This flavor has held the title of most beloved for several decades. In addition to the rectangle puffs, the Crunch Berries flavor also features four different colors of artificial strawberry-flavored spheres.

Check to see Is Kix Cereal Gluten Free and Is Crispix Gluten Free.

Answer: Is Captain Crunch Cereal Gluten Free?

To answer the question, no, Captain Crunch isn’t gluten-free. Although it doesn’t contain wheat, barley, or rye, Captain Crunch uses oats, which are often processed alongside these gluten-containing grains, so there is a high possibility of cross-contamination. 

PepsiCo, the company that owns Quaker Oats, states on its website that the oats used in Captain Crunch are not certified gluten free. They advise if you have celiac or are very sensitive to gluten, it’s best to steer clear of them. However, suppose you only have mild gluten sensitivity. In that case, it’s up to you to decide whether you’re comfortable risking a reaction.

In cases where a cereal contains none of the three main gluten-containing grains but does use oats, look for the certified gluten free seal or check to ensure the oats listed in the ingredients are gluten free. Many cereal manufacturers will print on the box whether or not a cereal was processed in a facility that also processes common allergens like wheat. They may also reveal their website’s processing and/or labeling policies.

Captain Crunch Ingredients:

As you can see from the brand website, no gluten ingredients are listed.

The ingredients list of captain crunch from the website.

This cereal falls under the category where cross-contamination risk will be high, as discussed above.

Gluten Free Alternatives to Captain Crunch:

Have no fear if you loved the flavor of Captian Crunch (before going gluten free!) There are some great gluten free cereal brands that make good substitutes for Captain Crunch!

  • Nature’s Path Envirokidz Cereal
  • Three Wishes Gluten Free Cereal
  • Lovebird Grain-Free Cereal
  • The Magic Spoon
Disclaimer image

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *