If you love to eat cereal for breakfast, you may know Kellogg's Crispix because it is a popular cereal to eat for breakfast. Let's break it all down and look at the facts to answer Is Crispix Gluten Free?
Many who are gluten free due to Celiac Disease or gluten intolerance are often looking for safe breakfast cereals to eat for breakfast. Several kinds of cereal do not contain gluten ingredients, but are they safe for those with celiac and gluten sensitivity?
If you are new to gluten free, this guide to gluten free living has tons of helpful information, so your new lifestyle is an easy transition. Check out all of the breakfast cereal brands I researched on my Cereal List.
What Is Crispix?
Crispix is a cereal made by Kellogg's. This cereal is mass-produced, and it is available at your local grocery store. You can also order it online via Amazon. It does not have wheat ingredients, so many people wonder if this cereal is gluten free.
Kellogg's brand website describes the cereal as having crispy rice and crispy corn on the other.
As with any product you are thinking about purchasing, it is critical to read the ingredients label to look for gluten ingredients. Food labels are the key to success!
Check out Is Kix Gluten Free and Is Captain Crunch Gluten Free if you love cereal.
Answer: Is Crispix Gluten Free?
No, Crispix is NOT gluten free. When you look at the ingredients list of this popular cereal (shown below) you will not see any gluten ingredients. This can be misleading to those who are gluten free.
Kellogg's is the first to say that if a product of theirs is gluten free, testing under 20 ppm, they will list it on the product's packaging. Crispix cereal has no such label on the box. Many of Kellogg's wheat-free cereals contain barley malt extract, malt syrup, or malt flavoring.
In the past, Crispix cereal's ingredients list included barley malt, which is a red flag gluten ingredient. For some reason, barley malt is no longer listed as the main ingredient.
Another potential red flag is rice syrup. Being gluten free for so many years, rice syrup sounds pretty innocent, but it can often be made with barley enzymes.
That being said, Crispix is not made in a separate facility. It is made on shared lines with wheat. The manufacturer does not test this cereal to measure the ppm of gluten. Without any measurements to look at, you have to go with the assumption this cereal is not safe for those with celiac disease.
As with any product you are thinking about purchasing, it is critical to read the ingredients label to look for gluten ingredients. Look for gluten free claims on the packaging.
When reading an ingredients list, ingredients are listed from the most quantity to the least. As I mentioned, barley malt has recently been removed from this list.
- Milled Corn
- Brown Rice Syrup
- Baking Soda
- Assorted Vitamins and Minerals
In looking at the ingredients list from Kellog's website, no ingredient jumps out as containing gluten. We have to go with the shared equipment and brown rice syrup with potential malt to make our decision not to eat this product.
Breakfast is one of the most important meals so I want to share some delicious gluten free cereal brands that are completely safe for those with Celiac and gluten intolerance.
Gluten Free Cereal Alternatives
There are lots of delicious gluten free breakfast cereals out there that are certified gluten free. Here are some of our family's favorites. They are all great options:
- Envirokids Cereal
- Bob's Red Mill Gluten Free Muesli
- Q'ia Cereals
- Aldi's Crispy Rice
- Trader Joe's Gluten Free Granola, Almond Butter Puffs,
- Puffins (one of my kids' favorites)
- Ancient Harvest Quinoa Flakes
- Magic Spoon
- Love Grown
- Barbara's Organic Rice Crisps (a gluten free crispy rice cereal that is a Rice Krispies copycat.)
- Nature's Path (The Sunrise Line is GF)
- Bakery On Main (Granola)
Stay tuned for articles discussing whether General Mills and other brands of wheat-free cereals are gluten free. I plan to analyze Rice Chex, Kix Cereal, Cocoa Krispies, Cheerios, Rice Krispies, Lucky Charms, Fruit Loops, etc.
This is a hot topic because many who are Celiac are eating these cereal brands. It is important to know whether these are safe.
Homemade Gluten Free Cereal Ideas:
- Homemade Gluten Free Granola makes a great breakfast, and you can customize the ingredients!
- This Gluten Free Honey Almond Squares Cereal looks fun to make!
If you love the recipes you find on my blog, I would love for you to sign up for my newsletter (and get my free gluten free lemon dessert e-cookbook!)
It is so frustrating and stomach pain and swelling producing when I eat what I think
is safe to eat… and no tummyache after that lasts for hours! I can’t trust cereal
makers for one. Crispix-I thought was safe-low fod…tummyache real quick.?had trouble breathing!! Labeling is so very important for us consumers….. please tell us the truth.!!!!!!!
I am so sorry this happened to you. Unfortunately, if something isn't certified gluten free, it can get cross-contaminated in the manufacturing process. I agree 100%. I wish brands would disclose more information so we can make safe choices.