Corn syrup is a thick, inexpensive sweetener that you see in a lot of foods and snacks. Is corn syrup gluten free? Let’s take a look at the research and find out if it is safe for those on a gluten free diet.

A spoon full of corn syrup.

If you are on a gluten free diet, it is critical to know which foods and ingredients are gluten free. Although I don’t use corn syrup very often, it is an ingredient I use around the holidays. I wanted to give you a write-up so you know what to look for when buying corn syrup at your local grocery store.

As always, read product labels to know exactly what is in the corn syrup. Brands need to declare if there are allergens in the corn syrup. Be on the lookout for wheat, barley, and rye. Also, be suspicious of artificial ingredients, including caramel color and natural flavors.

Check out all of my Baking Ingredient Research to see what is gluten free.

What Is Corn Syrup?

Corn syrup is a thick artificial sweetener made from corn. You will often see corn syrup and high fructose corn syrup on food labels. Corn syrup is mostly glucose, whereas high fructose corn syrup combines glucose and fructose.

Corn syrup was developed to be a cheap sweetener when sugar prices were high. It adds sweetness and softness to baked goods and sweetens and thickens processed foods.

In grocery stores, you will see regular corn syrup. You can not buy high fructose corn syrup in grocery stores. High fructose corn syrup is the sweetener that food manufacturers use.

Corn syrup can be used to sweeten baked goods, processed foods, jams, etc. Some imitation honey and maple syrup also contain corn syrup to reduce the cost of making it.

You can also use honey as a corn syrup substitute. You can also read Is Honey Gluten Free?

Answer: Is Corn Syrup Gluten Free?

Yes, corn syrup is gluten free. Corn syrup is made from corn, which is naturally gluten free. There shouldn’t be a risk of cross-contamination.

As a rule, you should always check the ingredients label to ensure that the corn syrup you buy is safe for those with celiac disease and gluten intolerance.

Also, check to see Is Coconut Sugar Gluten Free for more information on sugars.

What Brand of Corn Syrup Is Gluten Free?

Karo Corn Syrup is the most commonly found corn syrup in stores. Karo Corn Syrup is considered gluten free. Karo makes light and dark corn syrup varieties.

Light corn syrup is what you use in baking, and it can often have vanilla included as a flavoring. Dark corn syrup has molasses; many use it for holiday baking or when they need a more savory flavor.

You can also try this homemade corn syrup if you prefer to control the ingredients.

Recipes Using Corn Syrup:

Disclaimer image

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *