When we think about working out, the first thing that comes to our mind is Gatorade. The sports drink has taken over the sports world and has become an integral part of many people’s workout plans. It’s a great source of electrolytes to help energize and rehydrate after a strenuous workout.

But is drinking Gatorade safe for those with Celiac disease and gluten sensitivity? Is Gatorade gluten free?

Gatorade bottles on a shelf.

What is Gatorade?

Gatorade is a sports drink first created in 1965 for Dr. Robert Cade by the University of Florida Gators. It was meant to help rehydrate athletes and boost their performance during the games. The Gators won the Orange Bowl, a first for them in a very long time. This win cemented the power of Gatorade, and it shot to become one of the most popular sports drinks in the industry and eventually for the general public.

But is it healthy to drink? Though Gatorade can help replenish energy after lots of exercise, it is also high in sugar and artificial sweeteners. So it definitely isn’t a drink you want to drink too often, but it is okay to consume in moderation.

Check out what snacks are gluten free.

Answer: Is Gatorade Gluten Free?

Yes – well, mostly! None of the ingredients in Gatorade’s drinks have gluten, so all their drinks are great for those with gluten intolerance or celiac disease. In addition, according to Gatorade, their Gatorade Mix packets, G2 products, Protein shakes, and Prime Energy Chews do not contain traces of gluten or gluten-containing ingredients.

Gatorade products are not labeled gluten-free, meaning they are not tested for gluten-free. However, they have been found by many gluten-free foundations to be safe. Those tested have been found to have far less than 20ppm of gluten in them—especially their flavored hydration drinks. Even though there are artificial flavors, they do not contain gluten and are safe for a gluten-free diet.

However, their products like the Gatorade Whey protein bars and whey protein powder have gluten-centric main ingredients, which makes them very unfriendly to consume for those with Celiac and gluten intolerance. Suppose you are venturing outside of Gatorade’s thirst quencher products. In that case, it’s best to read the ingredients list to double-check that there are no gluten ingredients or gluten contamination.

With all of the different products and flavors that Gatorade produces, all of this information may feel overwhelming. But there is an easy way to remember it. All of their traditional drinks are gluten-free. But, their food products are a bit more in the gray zone. So, take time to check if there is any added gluten.

Bottles of ports drinks in an ice bin.

What Gatorade Products Are Gluten Free?

Gatorade Thirst Quencher

  • Lemon Lime Fruit Punch
  • Blue Cherry
  • Grape
  • Glacier Freeze 
  • Tropical Cooler
  • And all the different flavors! 

G Zero

  • Berry
  • Glacier Cherry
  • Glacier Freeze
  • Grape
  • Lemon-Lime
  • Orange

G2 Products

All flavors of G2 are gluten free.

Organic Thirst Quencher

Some of the thirst quenchers have a caramel color, which sometimes can have hidden gluten. Gatorade doesn’t test their product, so I will list the flavors that do not contain caramel color.

  • Mixed-Berry
  • Strawberry
  • Passion Fruit
  • Orange

Gatorade Juiced

These are Gatorade with added fruit juice. All of the flavors of Gatorade Juiced are gluten free.

Gatorlytes

  • Endurance Carb Energy Chews
  • Energy Gels (with caffeine are also gluten-free)
  • Bolt 24 (Antioxidant and Energize) 

*Note that NONE of the Gatorade Recover protein powder products are gluten free!

Gatorade Alternatives:

If you are looking for a healthier electrolyte option, there are several gluten-free options!

  • DripDrop – We use this brand because it doesn’t have a lot of unnatural ingredients.
  • LiquidIV – We like this one, but note it has Vitamin B6. Drinking too many, especially if you have POTS, can lead to getting too much of this vitamin.
  • Nunn
  • NormaLyte – This is another healthier electrolyte powder we use.
  • LMNT
  • Earth’s Best Organic Electrolyte Solution
Disclaimer image

Fearless Dining

Your go-to haven for gluten-free living, where I share hundreds of delicious, family-friendly recipes, helpful gluten-free resources, and allergen-friendly options for everyone!

2 Comments

  1. I’ve been trying to subscribe to is this gluten free but it will not allow me to enter inforation needed. Is any one else having this problem?

    1. Hi Linda, I reached out to your email too. I haven’t heard of any issues. I manually added you to the newsletter, so keep an eye out. The first email will be the free lemon cookbook that you can download. Thank you for wanting to subscribe!!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *