Ruffles are one of the most popular brands of potato chips. They are famous for their crinkle-cut shape, and they come in a variety of flavors. You can buy them almost anywhere, but before you buy a bag, Are Ruffles Gluten Free?

A photo showing the top of an open bag of ruffles.

What Are Ruffles?

If you love potato chips, chances are you have tried Ruffles brand of potato chips. You can find them pretty much anywhere you can buy snacks. One of the reasons it is popular is its potato chips are cut thicker than most brands, so you get a lot of crunch.

Ruffles are made by Frito Lay, which is owned by PepsiCo Food Service.

If you are gluten free and have gluten intolerance or sensitivity, it is critical to know if the snacks you eat are gluten free. Many foods do not contain gluten ingredients but either have red flag (hidden gluten) ingredients or are cross-contaminated with gluten in the manufacturing process.

Be sure to check out what snacks are gluten free on my Snack List.

Answer: Are Ruffles Gluten Free?

Yes and no. Frito Lay only lists a few of their flavors as gluten free on their website. This means there may be some ingredients or cross-contact with gluten in the lines where the flavored chips are made. I list the gluten free flavors of Ruffles below.

Lucky for us, Frito Lay is very good about listing which brands are gluten free and which products are gluten free. The following flavors of Ruffles are listed as gluten free on the Frito Lay Website:

Frito Lay Ruffles Gluten Free List

Gluten Free Ruffles Flavors:

Here are the flavors of Ruffles that the company states are completely gluten free.

  • Ruffles Original Potato Chips
  • Ruffles Simply Sea Salted Potato Chips
  • Ruffles Baked Original Potato Chips
  • Ruffles Baked Cheddar and Sour Cream Potato Chips
A basket of flavored ruffles potato chips.

Ruffles Flavors:

Ruffles come in many flavors, from common flavors like sour cream to more unique spicy flavors like lime and jalapeño.

In looking at all of the flavors, there are no gluten-containing ingredients in the flavored Ruffles chips. Most of their flavored chips contain MSG, but as you can read in my article, Is MSG Gluten Free, MSG is most often gluten free.

This means there is either hidden gluten in the yeast extract or there is a big risk of cross-contamination. Fritolay is very careful listing allergens, so they must not be confident that some flavors are safe for those with celiac or gluten intolerance.

Here is a full list, but note that some of these flavors are not gluten free.

  • Ruffles Original Potato Chips
  • Ruffles Flaming Hot BBQ
  • Ruffles Flaming Hot Cheddar and Sour Cream
  • Ruffles Lime and Jalapeño
  • Ruffles Ranch
  • Ruffles Cheddar and Sour Cream
  • Ruffles Flaming Hot
  • Ruffles All Dressed
  • Ruffles Sour Cream and Onion
  • Ruffles Queso Cheese

Gluten Free Ruffles Alternatives:

If you love flavored potato chips, other companies make tasty gluten-free options. Many of these potato chip companies undergo the certification process to ensure they are gluten-free. Here are some great potato chip brands that are gluten free:

  • Kettle Potato Chips (certified gluten free)
  • Late July Potato Chips (certified gluten free)
  • Trader Joe’s Ode to the Potato Chip
  • Great Value Potato Chips (Walmart brand)
  • Boulder Canyon (certified gluten free)
  • 365 Potato Chips (regular and rippled)

Check these articles to see Are Doritos Gluten Free and Are Cheetos Gluten Free?

Disclaimer image

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *