Miso soup is a high-protein soup you find in Japanese restaurants. It has a tangy broth, typically served before your meal. There are many miso soup recipes and twists, so let's look. Is miso soup gluten free?
What Is Miso Soup?
Miso soup is a soup served at Japanese restaurants. It is made with miso paste and dashi stock. Miso soup has a slightly salty flavor from the miso paste. It is considered comfort food, and it is common in Japan to serve miso soup with breakfast, lunch, or dinner.
A good tip when shopping for miso is to look at the names of the miso. Mugi miso is made with barley, and Tsubi miso is made with wheat and rye.
Those who are gluten free have either Celiac disease, which is an autoimmune condition, gluten intolerance or sensitivity, or a true wheat allergy. The protein in gluten is what causes issues for many. If you have one of these conditions, it is important that you do not eat wheat, barley, or rye. Does miso soup have gluten?
Don't forget to check out all my meal ingredients to see which are gluten free.
Answer: Is Miso Soup Gluten Free?
When determining if miso soup is gluten free, you need to look at the miso paste and the dashi. As mentioned in the article, Is Miso Gluten Free, miso can be made from gluten-containing ingredients. Knowing what is in the miso soup is critical if you are Celiac or gluten intolerant.
Whether miso soup is gluten-free will vary depending on the restaurant. Every restaurant will use different brands and ingredients in their miso soup. I know it can be a pain, but to stay safe from gluten contamination and ingredients, you must ask every place you go.
It will depend on what miso paste the restaurant uses and what it is fermented from. If the miso is fermented with soybeans, it should be gluten free. If the miso paste is fermented with barley or wheat, it will not be gluten free.
Dashi is another ingredient that you need to really check the ingredients on. Most dashi brands that I have seen include wheat. I have found one gluten free dashi made by Kanei.
The remaining ingredients in miso soup, seaweed, and tofu are typically gluten free. Ask the restaurant if they add other ingredients, like soy sauce.
Typical Ingredients In Miso Soup
- Miso paste
- Wakame (seaweed)
- Silken Tofu
Note that many restaurants also add a little soy sauce or other seasonings as well. Be sure to talk to the wait staff and understand what ingredients are used!
Make Miso Soup:
If you prefer to make homemade miso soup, it is straightforward to make. You can find everything on Amazon or at your local Asian grocery store. This miso soup recipe is an easy recipe we love to make
Simplifying the art of baking and cooking gluten-free recipes.