Many people are trying to lower their salt intake by using low salt or no-salt alternatives. Mrs. Dash comes in many flavor varieties and it is used to flavor countless foods without salt. Before you sprinkle Mrs. Dash onto your food, be sure to check, Is Mr. Dash Gluten Free?

Three flavors of mrs dash seasoning mix.

What Is Mrs. Dash?

Mrs. Dash, aka Dash, is a line of salt-free seasoning and marinades that come in many fun flavors. They make everything from no salt chili seasoning mix, taco seasoning mix, and global flavor blends to Italian seasoning.

Mrs. Dash is owned by B&G Foods in New Jersey. This product recently had a name change when they changed the product name to “Dash” back in 2020.

Mrs. Dash’s seasoning blends are made with natural flavors and artificial flavors with a blend of herbs. Their spice and herb blends are used on meats, seafood, salads, soup, and vegetables to add more flavor without adding sodium. The company makes spice blends only, and note that they do not sell individual single-ingredient spices.

You can find Mrs. Dash’s products at most grocery stores. They are also available online from many retailers.

While you are here, check to see Is Lawry’s Seasoned Salt Gluten Free and Is Better Than Boullion Gluten Free.

Answer: Is Mrs. Dash Gluten Free?

When you look at the ingredient statement on the product label of Mrs. Dash’s seasoning blends, you will not see any obvious gluten-containing ingredients. Many people often think Mrs. Dash is gluten free.

Unfortunately, Mrs. Dash’s seasoning blends are all made at facilities that also process gluten. This creates the risk of cross-contamination. The seasonings are manufactured on a shared manufacturing line with gluten products. This may not be a big issue for some with gluten intolerance or gluten sensitivity, but for those suffering from Celiac disease, the product is a no if there is a trace of gluten.

Even with a thorough equipment clean-up after running a gluten-containing product, many who try Mrs. Dash’s products may have gluten or allergic reactions. People with Celiac can not have products made on shared equipment due to the high risk of cross-contamination. It is critical to read ingredient lists, and there is a lot of importance in correct labeling. If the label is incorrect, many gluten-free people will be affected.

I can not recommend this product to anyone who has Celiac disease. It will be up to you if you are gluten intolerant or sensitive based on how much gluten you can tolerate.

Mrs. Dash Ingredients

As I mentioned, you will not find single-ingredient spices under the Dash name. The company only makes spice blends.

Onion, Spices (Black Pepper, Parsley, Celery Seed, Basil, Bay Marjoram, Oregano, Savory, Thyme, Cayenne Pepper, Coriander, Cumin, Mustard, Rosemary), Garlic, Carrot, Orange Peel, Tomato, Lemon Juice Powder, Citric Acid, Oil of Lemon.

If you want to still enjoy the flavors of Mrs. Dash seasonings, this is a great Mrs. Dash Copycat Seasoning Mix you can make at home. You can also check to see all of my meal ingredients to see what is gluten free.

Disclaimer image

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


  1. Congratulations on your new blog Sandi, such a great idea! We tried Mrs. Dash a few years ago, when my husband was instructed by his doctor to follow a low sodium diet. He didn’t care for it at all and neither did I, so now it sits on the shelf. The ingredients seemed ok to me as far as gluten, but after reading this post I will toss it.

    1. Thank you so much, Leslie!! I find if you are used to salt, there is a big adjustment process where your tastebuds have to slowly acclimate to no salt. It isn’t easy, especially if you love a lot of food flavor!