Whether you are cooking meat or making roasted potatoes, you have likely used some form of seasoned salt before. It’s a delicious spice mix that gives great flavor to any food it’s added to. But how safe is it to consume for those with gluten intolerance?

This post will specifically talk about one of the most popular seasoned salt brands, Lawry’s. And is Lawry’s Seasoned Salt gluten-free?

A bottle of lawry's seasoned salt.

What Is Lawry’s Seasoned Salt?

Lawry’s Seasoned Salt is a seasoning blend that was purchased by McCormick several years ago. McCormick is a big spice supplier; you can find it in any grocery store.

As the name suggests, Lawry’s seasoned salt combines dried ground spices with salt.

Most seasoned salts and seasoning blends have anti-caking agents to prevent the salt from sticking. Luckily, Lawry’s uses cornstarch as the anti-caking agent in their seasoned and garlic salt blends. Things can change, so I highly recommend reading the ingredients label for the most up-to-date information on ANY food product you purchase.

Be sure to look at all of my articles on meal ingredients to know which are gluten free.

Answer: Is Lawry’s Seasoned Salt Gluten Free?

Lawry’s Seasoned Salt is gluten-free, but it is not certified gluten-free. Lawry’s uses plain English labeling practices, clearly labeling all allergens in their products.

Lawry’s website states that all allergens will be listed on the label if there is gluten in the product. The website also says that their machinery is cleaned consistently to prevent cross-contamination issues. It is always best to check the ingredient label and the manufacturer’s website for the most up-to-date information.

If you have Celiac disease or gluten intolerance, it will be up to you to determine if this product is safe for you, given that it is not certified gluten-free.

Unlike seasoned salt, most of Lawry’s other spice blends are also gluten-free, meaning the company lists it as a gluten free product. If you are unsure if your favorite Lawry’s spice is gluten-free, their website has a complete list of the ingredients and their allergen statement.

Though Lawry’s spices and herbs do not contain gluten-containing ingredients, their seasoning mixes aren’t always gluten-free. For instance, their Au Jus Gravy and Beef Stew mixes have wheat. So, they are unsafe for those with Celiac disease or gluten allergies to consume.

A small jar of homemade seasoned salt.

One thing to note for ANY brand of spices and herbs is that many contain anti-caking agents. Anti-caking ingredients may have gluten ingredients or have more risk of cross-contamination.

Before labeling practices, this was a big issue. Multiple companies were using ingredients like flour to save money in the production of spices. Luckily, these practices aren’t as common nowadays. There are still anti-caking agents being used, but they’re usually gluten-free.

Read the ingredients list before purchasing to ensure there is no gluten in the spice or seasoning mix you plan on buying.

What Brands Of Seasoned Salt Are Gluten Free?

  • Spicely Organic Seasoned Salt
  • Badia Seasoned Salt
  • Momofuko Seasoned Salts
  • Morton’s Seasoned Salt
  • Nature’s Promise

You can also read about the popular taco seasoning mix, Old El Paso, to see if it is gluten free.

Disclaimer image

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *