If you're on a gluten-free diet and want to cook Asian cuisine, you have probably come across sesame oil. It's commonly used as either cooking oil or a garnish. But how friendly is it for those living a gluten-free lifestyle?
There are different types of sesame oil so that this post will dive into the two major varieties of sesame oil. First, I will discuss if they're gluten-free and then list gluten-free brands of sesame oil that you can buy at the store. Find out if sesame oil is gluten-free.
What Is Sesame Oil?
Sesame oil is precisely what it sounds like - oil made from sesame seeds. But there are two main types of sesame oil: toasted and untoasted. Depending on which you buy, the uses and flavors can differ.
Regular sesame oil has a neutral flavor and can be used similarly to other neutral-flavored oils. That means it can fry, roast, or cook foods without adding too much flavor.
On the other hand, toasted sesame oil has a much stronger flavor. While regular sesame oil is made from sesame seeds, the toasted oil is made from toasted sesame seeds. Toasting these tiny seeds brings out their flavor and gives them an intense nuttiness.
Therefore, it's best to use toasted sesame oil sparingly and as a flavoring or garnish. If you cook using toasted sesame oil, your dish will feel overwhelmingly nutty.
I have researched a lot of Asian Products to see which are gluten free. You can see the list of Asian Ingredients articles for more information.
Answer: Is Sesame Oil Gluten-Free?
Yes! Both toasted and regular sesame oil is gluten-free. Sesame seeds are naturally gluten-free, so sesame oil is gluten-free and safe for those with Celiac disease or gluten intolerance to use in cooking. It is entirely safe to use while cooking, but ensure that the sesame oil brand is pure sesame oil and not cut with something else.
The best way to avoid issues is to read the ingredients label before purchasing the sesame oil. Ensure the only ingredient in the oil is sesame seeds or toasted seeds. Also, check the allergen statement to double check there are no issues with cross-contamination. The manufacturer's website may also have additional information surrounding manufacturing processes if you want to learn more.
Sesame oil won't usually be labeled gluten-free as it is a naturally gluten-free product. Though sesame oil is not usually a certified gluten-free product, some ingredients contain gluten in the oil.
If you are making Musubi, you will want to read, Is Spam Gluten Free?
Brands of Gluten-Free Sesame Oil:
Since most brands of sesame oil are gluten-free, you can feel comfortable purchasing sesame oil.
- De La Rosa
- Foods Alive
- Eden Foods
- La Tournagelle
- Lee Kum Kee
- 365 Sesame Oil
- Spectrum Sesame Oil
- Signature Select Sesame Oil
- Sprout Organic Sesame Oil
- Good & Gather Sesame Oil
Find out what brands of Fish Sauce are gluten free. If you love Japanese food, it is important to know if wasabi is gluten free too!
Both toasted and regular sesame oil is naturally gluten-free. However, if you are worried about cross-contamination issues, check the ingredients label for any mentions. Also, the allergen statement or manufacturer's website should have information about any cross-contamination.
If you love the recipes you find on my blog, I would love for you to sign up for my newsletter (and get my free gluten free lemon dessert e-cookbook!)
Leave a Reply