Butterfingers are one of the most popular candies. They come in traditional candy bars, minis, and holiday specialty shapes. These candies are one of the first to come to mind when candy shopping. The big question is, Are Butterfingers Gluten Free?
What Are Butterfinger Candy Bars?
Butterfingers are crunchy sweet peanut butter candy bars that are coated in chocolate. They come in several varieties, including bars, mini-sized bars, and some special shapes for Valentine’s Day and Easter. You can also buy Butterfinger Baking Bits, which I love to use in recipes.
Butterfingers were invented in the 1920s by Otto Schnering. He owned a candy company and ran a contest to name the candy bars. You can read more fun facts about Butterfingers and their history in the Quirky History of Butterfingers.
If you love sweets as much as we do, check out to see what candy is gluten free.
- Corn Syrup
- Vegetable Oil
- Peanut Flour
- Non-fat Milk
- Soy Lecithin
- Natural Flavor
- Annatto Color
*Note these candy bars are unsafe for peanut allergies and contain dairy.
Answer: Are Butterfingers Gluten Free?
Yes, all Butterfinger varieties are gluten free EXCEPT Butterfinger Crisp. This short and sweet post will be because Butterfinger has been on the Gluten Free Safe Candy List for YEARS. Celiac.com maintains this list, updating it to keep it current.
*Some sites claim that Butterfinger Minis are not gluten-free, but this is incorrect. They contain the same ingredients. Butterfinger said on their site the ONLY flavor that is not gluten free is the Butterfinger Crisp
Butterfingers are the candy I tend to swipe the most from my kids’ trick-or-treat bags at Halloween, and I love using Butterfinger Bits in my baking!
Your go-to haven for gluten-free living, where I share hundreds of delicious, family-friendly recipes, helpful gluten-free resources, and allergen-friendly options for everyone!