If you love a hint of spice to your sweets, you probably are familiar with Hot Tamales candies. They are hot cinnamon candies you can find anywhere. Many wonder, Are Hot Tamales Gluten Free? Let’s do some research and find out!

A box of hot tamales on a wooden table.

Answer: Are Hot Tamales Gluten Free?

I will keep this report short and sweet because Hot Tamales are gluten free! The manufacturer labels this candy right on the front of the box!

Just Born Candy Company is excellent about labeling their products gluten free. As you can see from their allergen statement below:

What Are Hot Tamales?

Hot Tamales are chewy red hot cinnamon candies that come in a box. Just Born Candy Company manufactures them. This company also makes Mike and Ike Candies, Peeps, and more.

Hot Tamales are sold at most grocery stores, movie theaters, and gas stations. You will also see a lot of this candy during Halloween when your kids come home with full trick-or-treat bags full of candy.

Check out my research to see which candy is gluten free on my Candy List.

We offer many gluten-free products under the MIKE AND IKE®, HOT TAMALES®, PEEPS®, GOLDENBERG’S® PEANUT CHEWS®, TEENEE BEANEE® and JUST BORN® brands and we are in the process of updating package labels to include gluten-free statements where appropriate.  The modified food starch that we use in our candies is corn starch.  However, because some of our products may be manufactured and/or packaged in a facility that may also handle non gluten-free products, we encourage consumers to read the labels carefully for the most up-to-date ingredient and allergen information.  For further questions, please call our Consumer Relations Team toll-free at 1-888-645-3453.

Hot Tamales website

In addition, most of their candy line is gluten free, so the risk of cross-contamination is very low.

A photo of the back of the box showing the ingredients list.

Hot Tamales Ingredients:

  • Sugar
  • Corn Syrup
  • Modified Food Starch (from corn)
  • Artificial Colors
  • Dextrin
  • Confectioner’s Glaze
  • Artificial Color
  • Medium Chain Triglycerides
  • Carnuba Wax
  • Sodium Citrate
  • Pectin
  • Citric, Fumaric, and Malic Acids
  • Artificial Colors

In Summary, if you love a spicy kick to your candy, Hot Tamales are gluten free. This candy is safe for you to eat if you have celiac disease or if you are sensitive to gluten.

Check out Are Blow Pops Gluten Free and Are Rolos Gluten Free for more candy gluten free research.

Disclaimer image

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *