Mentos are a bite-sized chewy candy that kids love. You will see them at many grocery stores and movie theaters. Before you buy Mentos, here is my research to help you decide: Are Mentos Gluten Free?
Answer: Are Mentos Gluten Free?
This will be a very short post, friends because Mentos are NOT gluten free. As you can see in the photo above, Mentos has wheat syrup. This may not be an issue for many who are on a gluten free diet. According to the National Celiac Association, glucose syrup from wheat is safe for those with celiac disease. This probably varies widely depending on the person and their level of sensitivity.
What Are Mentos?
Mentos are chewy, round candies that come in a roll. You can find them in both mint and fruity flavors. They were first created in 1900 by the Van Melle company in the Netherlands. They are sold all over the world.
You may see them sold in tubes, as shown above, boxes in movie theaters, or in small packs at Halloween for trick or treat.
Someone in my Gluten Free Living and Recipe Share Facebook Group said they got really sick from eating Mentos, and then many other group members said they had trouble with this candy as well, so I did some research.
If you have a sweet tooth like me, check out all of my research on my Candy List.
Mentos states on their website that the glucose syrup they use is derived from wheat and is safe for those with Celiac disease, but then the company states that the candy is made on shared equipment with wheat. (See the above image.)
Based on all of the comments about this candy in my Facebook group, you may want to avoid this candy if you have celiac disease or gluten intolerance. If you have a wheat allergy, you should not eat this candy.
NOTE: This is not the case for all countries, apparently. In Australia, Mentos states on its website that its candy is gluten free.
Your go-to haven for gluten-free living, where I share hundreds of delicious, family-friendly recipes, helpful gluten-free resources, and allergen-friendly options for everyone!