Sour cream comes to the rescue whenever a dish needs a tangy boost or when a cake needs to be moist. This white, creamy condiment is a wonderful addition to anything from tacos to dips and baking. But is sour cream gluten-free?
This post will dive into what sour cream is, its gluten-free status, and I share the brands of gluten-free sour cream so you can rest assured when eating it.
What Is Sour Cream?
Sour cream is a popular condiment that is made with milk. It is a dairy product that is essentially fermented cream. The manufacturer adds bacteria to the cream, making it thicker and tangier in taste over time. Like most cream-based condiments, sour cream can be used to thicken sauces or dips. In addition, its sour flavor adds a nice bite to foods that may otherwise be too rich.
The most basic sour cream recipe will be made from cultured cream, enzymes, and milk. Some brands may add more additives and preservatives to lengthen its shelf-life, so it’s best to stick with sour cream brands with just the basic ingredients.
If you are dairy-free, you can also try making homemade dairy-free sour cream. Check out Is Heavy Cream Gluten Free to learn even more.
Answer: Is Sour Cream Gluten Free?
Yes, most brands of sour cream are naturally gluten-free. As previously mentioned, the main three ingredients of sour cream are free from gluten. This makes the tangy condiment safe to eat for those with Celiac disease or gluten allergies.
Since sour cream is a dairy product, it is unlikely that it was manufactured in the same space as a wheat product. However, the ingredients list will have to provide information if the sour cream has potentially come across gluten products like wheat.
Plain sour cream may not always be labeled gluten-free because it is a naturally gluten-free product. You must be careful when a company adds flavors or additives to the sour cream. Therefore, it is best to check the ingredients for flavored sour cream additives. Most flavorings are gluten-free, but some brands may use flavorings and preservatives that are sourced from wheat products.
This isn’t a common practice, but it can happen on occasion. So, carefully read the ingredients list and allergen statement to see if there are any gluten-containing ingredients. If you’re worried about these preservatives, sour cream can be made at home.
If you are gluten-sensitive or celiac, always read the package label to be sure the sour cream is safe.
While you are here, be sure to check out what condiments are gluten free.
Brands of Gluten Free Sour Cream
Most brands of sour cream are gluten-free, so there may be some generic brands of sour cream that are not on this list but are safe to eat.
- Friendship Dairies
- Kite Hill
- 365 Sour Cream (Whole Foods)
- O Organics Sour Cream (Raleys/Nob Hill)
- Trader Joe's Sour Cream
- Kirkland Sour Cream (Costco)
- Nancy’s Organic
- Organic Valley
- Tofutti (vegan)
Plain sour cream is gluten-free, so it’s safe to eat for those on a diet free from gluten. However, it’s always best to check the ingredients label for plain and flavored sour cream to ensure there aren’t any preservatives derived from gluten-containing ingredients.
Ways To Use Sour Cream:
- Creamy Hot Cream Cheese Dip
- Add sour cream to baked potatoes or top enchiladas and other Mexican foods. If you are making Mexican Food using a mix, check to be sure Is Old El Paso Taco Seasoning Gluten Free.
- Gluten Free Lemon Sour Cream Cake
- Mexican Casserole With Sour Cream
If you love the recipes you find on my blog, I would love for you to sign up for my newsletter (and get my free gluten free lemon dessert e-cookbook!)
Leave a Reply