SweeTarts are an iconic candy that we all grew up with. They’re sweet, tart, and fun to eat. Before buying a bag of SweeTarts, it is important to know whether they are safe for people with gluten sensitivities. Are SweeTarts gluten free? Updated 9/24/26 in time for Halloween.
This post may contain affiliate links. Please read our Disclosure Policy.

Answer: Are SweeTarts Gluten Free?
As with many products I have reviewed…the answer is it depends. SweeTarts do not contain any gluten ingredients. Whether they are safe for you to eat depends on your gluten sensitivity level and whether you have celiac disease.
SweeTarts are made by a giant candy company that also makes a lot of candy that does contain gluten. SweeTarts are made on shared manufacturing lines, making cross-contamination with gluten a big risk. I emailed Ferrero and got a total runaround with no answer about whether SweeTarts are gluten free. (Disappointing!)
As you know, cross-contamination is a big deal if you are celiac. A tiny bit of gluten can cause gut damage whether you feel it or not. If you have celiac disease, I recommend avoiding this candy. If you have gluten intolerance or gluten sensitivity, it is up to you whether you want to take the risk of cross-contamination with this candy.
Important Note: This candy comes in several varieties. This write-up is for Original SweeTarts, but I include below a list of their other varieties and whether they are gluten-free.
Look for a complete gluten free candy list at Beyondceliac.org. Note they do not list SweeTarts as safe for celiacs. You can also read all of the candies I researched on my Candy List.
Email This Recipe To Me!
SweeTarts Ingredients:
As you can see, there are no gluten-containing ingredients in Original SweeTarts. Maltodextrin is mainly made from corn, and you can read Is Maltodextrin Gluten Free if you want more information about that.
Dextrose, Maltodextrin, DL-Malic Acid, Less Than 2% of Calcium Stearate, Natural Flavors, Blue 1 Lake, Blue 2 Lake, Red 40 Lake, and Yellow 5 Lake.
Are Other Varieties of SweeTarts Gluten Free? (Updated with new products)
- SweeTart Rope and Rope Bites – SweeTart Ropes and Rope Bites are NOT gluten free. Both of these contain wheat flour.
- SweeTarts Chewy Fusions – SweeTart Chewy Fusions candy does not contain any gluten ingredients.
- SweeTarts Chewy and Mini Chewy – The Chewy SweeTarts do not contain gluten ingredients.
- SweeTarts Gummy Halos – These have no gluten-containing ingredients.
- SweeTart Gummies – These have no gluten-containing ingredients.
- SweeTart Freeze-Dried – These have no gluten-containing ingredients. Note: These contain egg whites.
If you love tart candy, you will want to read Are Skittles Gluten Free to see if this candy is safe to eat if you are gluten free.
Gluten Free SweeTart Candy Alternatives:
Luckily, a few great SweeTarts alternatives are indeed gluten free. If you want to avoid getting glutened, try one of these candies:
- YumEarth Chewy Fruit Chews are a good substitute for SweeTarts Chewy.
- YumEarth Giggles Organic Sour Candies
If you like fruity candy, also check out whether Nerds are gluten free.
⚠️ Always double-check product labels and manufacturing practices, since brands can change ingredients or processing methods without warning.
I truly hope you enjoy this recipe. I have been testing and creating gluten-free recipes for over 15 years. Creating gluten-free recipes that do not taste gluten-free is my goal for every recipe. Sometimes I only have to test a new recipe a couple of times, and others it takes multiple times. I do this so you get reliable, delicious results every time!

