Cool Whip is a creamy topping that can elevate any dessert, from pies to fruit salads. Its smooth texture and refreshing taste make it a popular dessert topper for many.
However, is Cool Whip gluten-free? Let’s dive into what Cool Whip is and if it is safe for gluten-free diets.
What Is Cool Whip?
Also known as “whipped topping,” Cool Whip is a brand of imitation whipped cream made by Kraft. It is usually used as a dessert topping, but it can be used in some recipes. Many use Cool Whip to get the same creaminess of whipped cream but with a firmer texture.
Cool Whip keeps its texture and does not melt as whipped cream does. It can be frozen without changing texture or taste, making it a convenient substitute for whipped cream.
There are different kinds of Cool Whip, like sugar-free, extra creamy, or no fat.
Be sure to check out which condiments are gluten free. Some may surprise you!
Answer: Is Cool Whip Gluten Free?
Yes! As of now, Cool Whip is gluten-free - all varieties!! Eating is entirely safe for those with Celiac disease or gluten intolerance. Cool Whip is not a dairy-free product, but there are no gluten-containing ingredients and cross-contamination issues.
Though Cool Whip does not have a “gluten-free” label, Kraft assures on their website that the product is free from traces of gluten. However, checking the label as ingredients and manufacturing procedures change is always best.
Currently, all flavors of Cool Whip are gluten-free as well. So, enjoy your gluten-free dessert with as much Cool Whip as you like!
What Is The Difference Between Cool Whip And Whipped Cream?
Though the two may seem similar, Cool Whip and whipped cream are not the same things. The biggest difference is their ingredients. Cool Whip includes: skim milk, corn syrup, vegetable oil, and light cream. On the other hand, whipped cream is made only from heavy whipping cream. The additional ingredients in Cool Whip help it keep its texture so well.
The difference in ingredients also gives the two creams a difference in texture and appearance. Whipped cream, as its name suggests, is light and fluffy. But, Cool Whip is denser and looks more like sour cream than whipped cream.
Dairy-Free Cool Whip Alternatives:
When writing this post, all Cool Whip flavors and varieties are gluten-free, but always check the ingredient’s label just to ensure. Also, here are some other fantastic gluten-free whipped toppings (with vegan choices!).
- TruWhip - Healthier and my personal favorite. It doesn't contain corn syrup.)
- So Delicious Coco Whip
- Sweet Rose Coconut Whipped Topping
Cool Whip and its different flavors and varieties are gluten-free. Most other whipped topping brands are also gluten-free. However, it is always best to check the ingredient list, as manufacturing processes can change over time.
Ways To Use Cool Whip:
If you love the recipes you find on my blog, I would love for you to sign up for my newsletter (and get my free gluten free lemon dessert e-cookbook!)
Leave a Reply