Whether it’s Taco Tuesday or just craving tacos, you may head to the store to grab all the essentials. Corn shells are gluten free, but what about that taco seasoning? One of the most popular brands is Old El Paso Taco Seasoning, but is it gluten free?

Two packets of old el paso taco seasoning.

What Is Old El Paso Taco Seasoning?

Old El Paso Taco Seasoning is a taco seasoning packet made by General Mills. This seasoning is generally found in a stand-alone packet in the store and in other seasonings types. It comes in a few flavors ranging from mild to spicy. The Old El Paso brand also makes taco kits with taco shells and seasoning, so you can easily prepare a taco fiesta for the family.

The seasoning is made of bold flavors that help enhance your chosen protein to give it that beautiful taste that makes you crave tacos.

If your spice cabinet is bare or you just want the simple ease of using a seasoning packet, you will want to grab some taco seasoning. You don’t want to mistake using taco seasoning for gluten, so read this to learn more about this particular brand!

If you are making tacos, you may want to use Rotel. Be sure to see Is Rotel Gluten Free and Is Shredded Cheese Gluten Free.

Answer: Is Old El Paso Taco Seasoning Gluten Free?

Old El Paso Taco Seasoning is most likely gluten free. There is no gluten included, nor are there any declared allergens. Therefore, you can probably use this brand to avoid a gluten catastrophe regarding seasoning. The only possibility of gluten is if it is made on shared equipment.

Old El Paso states on its website that its taco seasoning contains “No Declaration Obligatory Allergens.” Gluten is considered an obligatory allergen, and brands must declare gluten if it is in the product.

The kits will also be gluten-free if you choose the one with the hard corn taco shells. Any kit that contains flour tortillas will have gluten.

Old El Paso Taco Mix Ingredients:

Since it’s part of the General Mills company, Old El Paso Taco Seasoning is transparent with its ingredients and clearly declares known allergens on all labels. This taco seasoning contains the following ingredients:

  • Chili Pepper
  • Maltodextrin
  • Salt
  • Onion Powder
  • Spice
  • Corn Starch
  • Sea Salt
  • Vegetable Oil
  • Corn Flour
  • Silicon Dioxide
  • Citric Acid
  • Sugar
  • Natural Flavor

Again, the company doesn’t list whether the product can be cross-contaminated, so if you are celiac, you must decide whether to try it.

Four tacos on a wooden board.

Of course, you can make your taco seasoning with chili powder, ground cumin, black pepper, salt, paprika, dried oregano, onion powder, garlic powder, and red pepper flakes. If you want to make homemade seasoning, this taco seasoning recipe is one of my favorites! Also, see Is Mrs. Dash Gluten Free.

Check out these articles to see which meal ingredients are gluten free.

Disclaimer image

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


    1. You are correct. Old El Paso is not certified gluten free. I was very careful to state in my article that there are no gluten-containing ingredients, but it will depend on whether you are celiac, or gluten sensitive whether it is safe for a person.