Manwich is a classic canned sloppy Joe sauce you may remember from your youth. You add a thick, seasoned sauce to browned ground beef. The mixture is then served on a hamburger bun. If you want to try it, it is good to find out. Is Manwich gluten free?

Jars of Manwich Sloppy Joe Sauce on the grocery shelf.

What Is Manwich?

Manwich is a sloppy Joe sauce manufactured by ConAgra Foods and is under Hunt’s. It was created in 1969 as a shortcut for making sloppy Joes. It comes in four flavors: Original, Bourbon BBQ, Bold, and Thick & Chunky.

To make Manwich Sloppy Joes, all you have to do is brown ground meat in a pan, then add the can of Manwich. In the old days, you used ground beef, but now people also use ground turkey, pork, and chicken.

Check my list to see what meal ingredients are gluten free.

Manwich Ingredients:

  • Water
  • Tomato Paste
  • High Fructose Corn Syrup
  • Distilled Vinegar
  • Corn Syrup
  • Sugar
  • Salt
  • Carrot Fiber
  • Dried Red and Green Bell Peppers
  • Chili Pepper
  • Guar Gum
  • Xanthan Gum
  • Dried Garlic
  • Natural Flavors
  • Citric Acid

Answer: Is Manwich Gluten Free?

The answer is that Manwich is most likely gluten free. There are no gluten ingredients in canned Manwich, and the Manwich website lists Manwich as having no gluten-containing ingredients.

There is no mention of whether Manwich is made on any shared lines. If you are celiac, it is important to know if a food is made on shared equipment because if it is, there is a high chance of gluten contamination.

Manwich is not certified gluten free, so those with celiac disease and gluten allergy must be careful with this product. If you have gluten sensitivity or gluten intolerance, you must make your own choice based on how sensitive you are and what your typical reactions are.

The ConAgra Gluten Statement from their website.

ConAgra’s company website states that they label whether a product is gluten free. I searched the can of Manwich, and this product is not labeled “gluten free” anywhere on the can.

A manwich sloppy joe on the counter.

Gluten Free Sloppy Joe Sauce Brands:

Note that all of these products say they are gluten free on their packaging, but none are certified gluten free.

  • Simply Organic Sloppy Joe Mix
  • McCormick Sloppy Joe Mix
  • Red Fork Sloppy Joe Skillet Sauce
  • Stonewall Kitchen Sloppy Joe Sauce
  • Mom’s Place Sloppy Joe Seasoning Mix (certified gluten free)

You can also make these incredibly tasty Gluten Free Sloppy Joes.

Disclaimer image

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *