Whether you’re making a sandwich or a potato salad, you’ve likely come across the white condiment, mayonnaise. Mayo is a common ingredient in many dishes and sauces, but is it safe for those with Celiac disease or gluten intolerance?
Let’s see if this creamy condiment is gluten-free and safe to enjoy! Is Mayonnaise gluten free? Miracle Whip is a popular condiment as well so I also discuss whether Miracle Whip is gluten free.
What Is Mayonnaise?
To make mayonnaise, you need three simple ingredients: eggs, oil, and an acid (i.e., lemon juice). These ingredients come together and whip up into a creamy, white condiment that adds creaminess to dishes. Mayo is often combined with other seasonings and spices to give it many different flavors. For example, sriracha and mayonnaise are often mixed to make spicy mayo!
Most store-bought mayo is made from these three ingredients but tends to have additional preservatives. Unfortunately, these preservatives are where buying gluten-free mayonnaise can get complicated.
There are other types of mayonnaise-like Kewpie mayo, a Japanese style of mayonnaise. The main difference is that Kewpie mayonnaise is made solely from egg yolks rather than the whole egg.
Check out all of my condiments write-ups to learn which are gluten free! If you love mayo, chances are you love other condiments as well. Is Ketchup Gluten Free?
Answer: Is Mayonnaise Gluten Free?
Yes, in most cases, mayonnaise should be gluten-free. Mayo’s main ingredients are naturally gluten-free, so natural plain mayonnaise should be safe for those with gluten sensitivity.
Even though none of the main ingredients have gluten, it’s best ALWAYS to check the ingredients label for gluten-free certifications. Look for any preservatives or additional flavorings that could have traces of gluten or there could be cross-contamination.
Companies don’t have to test their products for gluten, so it’s best to check the label first. The allergen statement has to legally mention if there are any traces of gluten in the mayonnaise or if there could have been cross-contamination. If you’re buying flavored mayonnaise, then look even more carefully. The additional flavorings could have gluten.
Many confuse Miracle Whip with mayonnaise, but they are two different products of other ingredients. Miracle whip was created as a cheaper alternative to mayonnaise so that it could be used in the same manner. Fortunately, Kraft’s Miracle Whip is also gluten-free. Other brands are likely gluten-free as well, but always check the label for further information.
Or, make the mayonnaise at home to be sure that all the ingredients are safe for those with gluten sensitivity.
Brands Of Gluten Free Mayonnaise:
Mayonnaise is most often gluten-free, so you can feel safe using it to make your dishes creamier and richer. However, if you plan on buying a "flavored" mayonnaise, double-check the ingredients list to ensure it’s free from any gluten-containing ingredients. Here are brands that are considered gluten-free:
- Blue Plate
- Heinz (Does not contain gluten ingredients.)
- Hellman’s Mayonnaise
- Kraft Mayonnaise
- Primal Kitchen
- Hain Mayonnaise
- Spectrum Mayonnaise
- Blue Marble Mayonnaise
- Sir Kensington’s Mayonnaise
- Trader Joe’s Mayo
- 365 Organic Mayonnaise (Whole Foods)
You can also make homemade mayonnaise really easily.
Is Miracle Whip Gluten Free?
Many people prefer to use Miracle Whip when they are using mayonnaise. Miracle Whip is made by Kraft. Both Miracle Whip and regular mayonnaise are made with the same ingredients, including egg, oil, and an acid like lemon juice, but Miracle whip also contains a little sugar and some seasoning.
Miracle Whip has no gluten-containing ingredients, but it is not certified gluten free. The manufacturer does not label Miracle Whip as gluten free. There is a chance Miracle Whip is made on shared equipment.
Miracle Whip Ingredients:
WATER, VINEGAR, SOYBEAN OIL, MODIFIED FOOD STARCH, HIGH FRUCTOSE CORN SYRUP, SUGAR, SALT, CONTAINS LESS THAN 2% OF NATURAL FLAVOR, EGGS, CELLULOSE GEL, MUSTARD, POTASSIUM SORBATE (TO PROTECT FRESHNESS), XANTHAN GUM, CELLULOSE GUM, SPICE, PAPRIKA, SUCRALOSE AND ACESULFAME POTASSIUM (SWEETENERS), DRIED GARLIC.
If you are sensitive to gluten or have celiac disease, you may want to skip using Miracle Whip and use one of the gluten free alternatives I listed above.
You can also check to see, Is Mustard Gluten Free?
Recipes Using Mayo:
Not every product from these brands is gluten-free, but they have gluten-free mayonnaise options. Carefully look at the packaging first before purchasing.
If you love the recipes you find on my blog, I would love for you to sign up for my newsletter (and get my free gluten free lemon dessert e-cookbook!)
Leave a Reply