We’ve talked about ketchup before, but that’s the only one of the many condiments out there. Today, I want to focus on one of the most popular condiments out there: mustard! It’s famous for its bright yellow color and tangy flavor.

Mustard tastes great with hotdogs, burgers, or even added to salad dressings. So, is mustard gluten-free? First, find out if mustard is gluten-free and safe for those with gluten intolerance.

Three bottles of mustard in a row.

What Is Mustard?

Basic mustard is a condiment made from mustard seeds and vinegar. There are many different mustard types, so that other ingredients may be mixed into the condiment. These additions can be anything from honey to lemon juice.

Just like many mustard types, there are even more brands of mustard. Ingredients will differ depending on the brand and flavor of mustard, so keep that in mind when buying mustard.

Check out my write-ups on condiments to know which are gluten free.

Answer: Is Mustard Gluten Free?

As with most things, whether mustard is gluten free will completely depend on the ingredients! Many mustard types exist, like honey mustard, dijon, or the more traditional yellow mustard. Mustard seeds are naturally gluten-free, but sometimes the other ingredients in mustard aren’t gluten-free.

The main red-flag ingredient that could cause issues is vinegar. Many types of vinegar are gluten-free, but some mustard brands may use malt vinegar, an ingredient with gluten. For a vinegar to be gluten free, you want to look for distilled vinegar.

The other issue is cross-contamination. Most brands that sell mustard also make other products. Even if they clean machines often, there can be gluten cross-contamination issues. The best way to avoid issues with vinegar and cross-contamination is to look at the packaging for any gluten-free labels. A gluten-free or certified gluten-free label means that the mustard is safe to enjoy for those with Celiac disease or gluten intolerance.

For those who don’t have severe gluten intolerance, a gluten-free certification may not be necessary. These certifications mean that the mustard is safe from gluten-containing ingredients and cross-contamination.

But it’s still important to look at the ingredient’s label for those that aren’t as affected. For example, you want to look out for “malt vinegar” and any allergen statements that mention barley or wheat. Doing all this may take an extra minute, but it’s the best way to stay safe while on a gluten-free diet.

Find out Is Mayonnaise Gluten Free and Is Ketchup Gluten Free, so you have a safe brand list for each!

A small white pot of mustard.

You can also make homemade mustard. Try this easy How To Make Mustard tutorial.

Brands Of Gluten Free Mustard:

Many brands of mustard should be gluten-free, but always give it a quick glance before purchasing.

  • French’s Classic Yellow Mustard & Dijon Mustard
  • Sir Kensington’s Mustard 
  • Boar’s Head Honey Mustard & Yellow Mustard
  • Annie’s Horseradish Mustard 
  • Koops’ Spicy Brown Mustard
  • Tessemae’s Organic Dijon Mustard
  • Organicville Organic Mustard
Disclaimer image

Your go-to haven for gluten-free living, where I share hundreds of delicious, family-friendly recipes, helpful gluten-free resources, and allergen-friendly options for everyone!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

2 Comments

  1. Thank you for the education. I had no idea that some mustards weren’t gluten free. I assumed they were all fine. Instead of just a gluten free list, can you please add a list of mustards that have gluten?