Plant-based milk is becoming increasingly popular, and oat milk has become one of the most famous. It has become known for its creamy texture and subtly sweet taste, making it a perfect dairy milk substitute for cooking and baking.

But the big question is, is oat milk gluten-free? Is it safe for those with Celiac disease and gluten intolerance to drink? 

A glass of oat milk next to a jar of oats.

What Is Oat Milk?

Before we get into the nitty-gritty, let’s talk quickly about what oat milk is. Oat milk is an alternative made from steel-cut oats soaked in water, put through a blender, and then strained. 

The result is plant-based milk that is creamier in texture than almond milk or soy milk. It tastes similar to dairy milk but with a subtle sweetness to it. It tastes great with your morning cup of hot coffee or cereal. If you are not a fan of oatmeal, do not worry. Oat milk has a subtle oat-y taste but not an overwhelming “oat” taste. 

Oat milk bought from the grocery store slightly differs from homemade oat milk. Most of the healthy benefits of oats are in the “pulp” of the oats rather than the milk byproduct. The “milk” still has some nutrients, but not all. So, many manufacturers will add vitamins and nutrients back into the oat milk before shipping them to stores.

Thanks to the rise of dairy-free milk, oat milk isn’t just a replacement for regular cow’s milk. There are plenty of oat milk varieties that can replace many dairy products. From ice cream to chocolate milk to coffee creamer, there are so many options out there.

Most regular oat milk brands have added sugar for flavor, but unsweetened oat milk options exist. Is it the perfect alternative to regular milk, or is it?

If you use oat milk in your baking as I do, you can check to see what baking ingredients are gluten free.

There are many reasons that oat milk has become popular, but here are a few. 

With the increased awareness of climate change, many people are trying to switch to a more plant-based diet as a popular alternative. Unfortunately, the meat and dairy industry creates quite a lot of greenhouse gas emissions, so by cutting down our consumption of these products, we can help the planet a little. 

The other reason is how well it works as a substitute for milk. Coffee shops can get the same creamy texture with oat milk as cow’s milk when making lattes. Consumers love enjoying a more eco-friendly drink without sacrificing flavor and texture. 

In recent years, lactose intolerance has been on the rise. As a result, many people can’t digest milk, and plant-based dairy-free milk has been able to replace people’s need for milk. But without all the added discomfort! 

Check out other plant milk, including Is Soy Milk Gluten Free.

Answer: Is Oat Milk Gluten Free?

Is Oat milk gluten free? Yes and no. Oat milk is made with oats, water, thickeners, and preservatives if you buy store-bought oat milk.

Though most whole oats are gluten-free, most manufacturing plants where oat milk is made come closely with wheat products. This means there is a high risk of cross-contamination, and they do not follow the purity protocol in the processing plant. Depending on your gluten sensitivity, this may or may not be an issue.

Oatly is certified gluten-free, but it is not gluten-free in the UK. It is the best oat milk for you if you are Celiac or gluten-sensitive. It will be the best alternative for you. Always read the brand allergens statement on the package label!

PureOaty by Glebe Farm in the UK is also certified gluten free.

A great alternative is to make your homemade oat milk, and I include a couple of deliciously creamy homemade recipes below.

Read Is Coconut Milk Gluten Free to see if this is an option for you. You can see all of my articles on plant milk to learn which are gluten free.

A jar of oat milk on a wooden board with oats.

Why Certified Gluten Free Oats Are Critical:

It is critical to use certified gluten free oats if you have Celiac Disease. Cross-contamination runs high in regular oats because oats are grown near wheat, and oats can be stored in the same silos as wheat.

I recommend reading more about certified gluten free oats on the Gluten Intolerance Group’s website for additional information.

I like these certified gluten free oats brands:

  • Bob’s Red Mill makes three kinds of certified gluten free whole grain oats. Rolled oats, quick oats, and steel-cut oats.
  • Bakery On Main makes great oatmeal and granola.
  • Thrive Market has gluten free oats in the yellow bag.
  • Farmers We Know

Note: Trader Joe’s oats are testing over 20 ppm and are unsafe to eat.

Brands Of Gluten Free Oat Milk:

  • Oatly – This is certified gluten free, but not in the UK.
  • Pure Oaty by Glebe Farms is certified gluten-free in the UK.
  • Glenhurst – Tests under 5 ppm via Gluten Free Watchdog. They use certified gluten free oats grown in the purity protocol.

These have gluten free on their packaging but are not certified gluten free:

  • Planet Oat
  • Califia Farms
  • Silk Oatmilk
  • Trader Joe’s

Homemade Oat Milk Recipes:

Disclaimer image

Fearless Dining

Your go-to haven for gluten-free living, where I share hundreds of delicious, family-friendly recipes, helpful gluten-free resources, and allergen-friendly options for everyone!

4 Comments

  1. Pure Oaty is Oat milk which is also has certification as gluten free by COELIAC SOCIETY CERTIFICATE and AOECS Standard for Gluten-Free Foods

  2. I think this deserves to be mentioned. Oats contain AVENIN – a gluten like protein that cannot be processed or cooked out. Some can tolerate oats but a lot like me cannot.

    1. That is a very good point Anita, thank you. Avenin is similar in structure to wheat protein, but not quite so people will need to choose if they wish to try oat milk to see if this is an issue for them.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *