With the many plant-based milk options, choosing one can be tricky, especially when you’re following a gluten-free diet! One of the most well-known plant-based kinds of milk is probably soy milk. This is because it’s been around for a long time and has been a part of people’s diets for centuries.

But is soy milk gluten-free? This post will dive into what soy milk is if it’s gluten-free, and which gluten-free brands you should try.

A glass of soy milk on a table.

What Is Soy Milk?

Soy milk is a milk alternative that is made from soybeans. The soybeans are soaked, blended, then strained. The result is a white and creamy, milk-like beverage. In addition, there is unsweetened, sweetened, and flavored soy milk.

This milk alternative can be used in any way that cow’s milk, thanks to its mild flavor and creamy texture. It is a popular milk alternative for vegan bakers as it reacts similarly to cow’s milk in baked goods.

Soy milk from the store can include additives like sweeteners, preservatives, minerals, etc. These are to make the soy milk more similar to cow’s milk or to help them last longer on store shelves.

Read about all of the types of plant milk and find out which are gluten free.

Answer: Is Soy Milk Gluten Free?

Usually, yes. Soybeans are naturally gluten-free, so plain store-bought soy milk should be free from gluten. However, when soy milk has sweeteners or flavorings, things get tricky. For example, some brands may use wheat or barley-based sweeteners. Both wheat and barley have gluten, which would these brands of soy milk unsafe to consume for those with Celiac disease or gluten allergies.

Most brands use gluten-free additives, but it’s always best to carefully read the ingredient’s label and allergen statement. These will show you if there are any traces of gluten-containing ingredients that could affect you. Many brands are completely gluten-free, so don’t worry about not finding safe soy milk!

When it comes to issues of cross-contamination, it’s best to buy a brand of soy milk that is certified gluten-free. That means the soy milk has been tested for gluten and has less than 20 ppm of gluten. This label will always be your best bet. If you are still worried, soy milk is surprisingly easy to make at home. There are plenty of fabulous recipes, so try making your own and take control of what goes into your soy milk.

Check out Is Almond Milk Gluten Free, Is Coconut Milk Gluten Free, and Is Oatmilk Gluten Free for more plant-based beverages.

Brands Of Gluten Free Soymilk:

The following brands have gluten-free soy milk options. Look for more information on the packaging for any gluten-free certified labels or the ingredient list.

  • Earth Balance Soy Milk (all flavors)
  • Silk (all flavors)
  • Soy Dream
  • Trader Joe’s
  • WestSoy 
  • Pacific Foods
Disclaimer image

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *