Jolly Ranchers are one of the best if you love bold, fruity, hard candy. They come in many fun flavors; you can find them at most grocery and convenience stores. Before buying a bag of these candies, read to find out, Are Jolly Ranchers Gluten Free?

A blue bag of jolly ranchers candy.

What Are Jolly Ranchers?

Jolly Ranchers are fruity hard candies that come in a rectangular shape. They were first created by Bill and Dorothy Harmsen of Golden, Colorado. They formed a company called Jolly Ranchers.

The Hershey Company purchased Jolly Ranchers candy in 1996. Hershey expanded the Jolly Rancher product line to include gummies, lollipops, and jelly beans.

The most popular flavors of Jolly Ranchers are watermelon, green apple, blue raspberry, and grape.

Be sure to check out all of my candy lists to ensure your favorite candy is gluten free. If you love fruit candy, read Are Blow Pops Gluten Free?

Answer: Are Jolly Ranchers Gluten Free?

The answer to whether Jolly Ranchers are gluten free is unclear. As you can see from the list of ingredients below, Jolly Ranchers has no gluten ingredients.

What is unusual is Hershey’s is very good about listing their gluten free candies. Hershey makes over 250 gluten free candies. Jolly Rancher is not on their list. The company says it is because Jolly Ranchers are not certified gluten free.

Whether you eat Jolly Ranchers or not will come down to your sensitivity. For those with gluten intolerance or gluten sensitivity, you may be able to eat Jolly Ranchers. If you have celiac disease, meaning you can’t eat wheat, barley, or rye, you may need to pass on this candy.

Jolly Rancher Ingredients:

Jolly Ranchers have the following ingredients:

  • Corn Syrup
  • Sugar
  • Contains 2% or Less of:
  • Malic Acid
  • Natural Flavor
  • Artificial Flavor
  • Artificial Color (Red 40, Yellow 5, Blue 1, Yellow 6)
  • Mineral Oil
  • Soy Lecithin

Are Jolly Rancher Gummies Gluten Free?

As with regular Jolly Ranchers, Jolly Rancher Gummies contain no gluten ingredients. You will need to show the same caution as in the Jolly Ranchers. We do not know whether these candies have potential cross-contamination or whether they truly are gluten free or not.

Jolly Rancher Gummies Ingredients:

  • Sugar
  • Corn Syrup
  • Modified Cornstarch
  • Contains 2% or Less of:
  • Malic Acid
  • Natural Flavor
  • Artificial Flavor
  • Sodium Citrate
  • Mineral Oil
  • Carnauba Wax
  • Limonene
  • Artificial Color (Red 40, Blue 1, Yellow 5, Yellow 6)

If you love hard, fruity candies, be sure to read Are Ring Pops Gluten Free? Also, check out if Haribo Gummy Bears are gluten free.

Disclaimer image

Fearless Dining

Your go-to haven for gluten-free living, where I share hundreds of delicious, family-friendly recipes, helpful gluten-free resources, and allergen-friendly options for everyone!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *