A candy bar is always a quick and tasty treat when you’re feeling snacky or want to satisfy your sweet tooth. Snickers bars are a trendy candy bar because of their winning flavor combination of chocolate, nuts, and caramel. But are Snickers gluten free?
Suppose you have celiac disease or are otherwise sensitive or intolerant to gluten. In that case, you know it is so important to examine the ingredient labels of every food you intend to eat.
Gluten is a protein found in wheat, rye, and barley. Their byproducts, like malt, bran, and flour, are dangerous to people with this common allergy.
Check out what other candy is gluten free. I am always working to research what candy is gluten free.
What Are Snickers?
Snickers is a major brand, and this candy bar is commonly sold in gas stations, grocery stores, and vending machines. A Snickers bar is likely somewhere nearby, so you can get a chocolate bar fix almost any time.
Snickers are supposedly named after a horse and were first manufactured in Chicago in 1930. They are manufactured by Mars Wrigley.
Snickers are defined by their nougat core, which is topped with roasted peanuts, a thick ribbon of caramel, and coated entirely in milk chocolate. They come in a range of five different sizes to accommodate a variety of appetites.
Along with the original Snickers bars, the brand has also introduced two more lines of Snickers-based products: brownies and ice cream. The brownie line contains two flavors (Peanut and Dark Chocolate Almond), and the ice cream line consists of bars and pints.
Answer: Are Snickers Gluten Free?
The Snickers ingredient list doesn’t contain gluten ingredients, so yes, Snickers bars are gluten free! You will find Snickers on most gluten free candy listings like the Celiac.org sites candy list.
However, caution is still best, especially if you have significant gluten sensitivity or celiac disease. Just because the typical grains containing gluten aren’t listed on the ingredients doesn’t mean they aren’t processed in the same facility.
This is true in the case of Snickers. Though wheat, barley, and rye aren’t listed in the original or brownie-flavored bars’ recipe, it IS listed as a possible contaminant in their ice cream bar line.
In addition, it isn’t clear whether or not the ice cream products are manufactured in the same facility. So if you have a severe gluten allergy, caution is best. At the very least, steer clear of Snickers Ice Cream Bars and Snickers Ice Cream Pints.
There are three different lines of Snickers bars, but they share the same few core ingredients. Ingredients included in the original Snickers bar are:
- Milk chocolate (sugar, cocoa butter, chocolate, skim milk, lactose, milk fat, soy lecithin)
- Corn syrup
- Palm oil
- Skim milk
- Egg whites
- Artificial flavor
Mars Wrigley also makes Skittles. Check to see Are Skittles Gluten Free for more info on this candy.
Other Gluten Free Candy Bars
- Enjoy Life Foods Chocolate Bars
- Butterfinger Candy Bars (Original ONLY)
- Payday Bars
- Heath Bars
- Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups and Reese’s Pieces (Original varieties only, NOT the Holiday shapes or limited edition flavors)
If you love the recipes you find on my blog, I would love for you to sign up for my newsletter (and get my free gluten free holiday cookies baking tips!)