Tootsie Roll Pops are the best of both worlds—a tootsie roll candy, a fruity hard candy, and a lollipop all in one! They are popular at birthday parties and during Halloween. Before you unwrap a Tootsie Roll Pop, check: Are Tootsie Roll Pops Gluten-Free?

Tootsie pops on a table.

Answer: Are Toosie Pops Gluten Free?

Yes, Tootsie Pops are gluten-free! Tootsie Industries is very good about labeling its candies with allergens, as seen in the photo below. They openly label the lollipops gluten-free right on the bag.

What Are Tootsie Pops?

Tootsie Pops are lollipops made by Tootsie Industries. You may remember some of the Tootsie family candies I have researched, including Blow Pops, Dots, Candy Corn, and Junior Mints.

Believe it or not, Tootsie Rolls (and hence their pops) got their name when the creator, Leo Hirschfield, opened a candy store in New York City. Tootsie Rolls were named after his daughter. Each Tootsie Pop has only 60 calories, making them a lower-calorie candy choice.

Which of your products is gluten free?

At this time, all of our confections are gluten free. We do not use wheat, barley, rye, oats, triticale, spelt or any of their components and that includes our dusting on our conveyor belts. We do use corn and soy products in the manufacturing of our products.

Tootsie Industries website

Their website also states that their candy is gluten free. At this time, none of their candy includes gluten ingredients. Because of this, there are no shared lines with any gluten ingredients.

If you have celiac disease or gluten intolerance, you should be okay to eat the candies. That said, ingredients and suppliers change, so always double-check the gluten-free icon’s packaging.

If you are sorting through your kids’ Halloween candy, you can feel confident that Tootsie Pops and other candies by Tootsie Company are safe for your kids.

Tootsie Pops package ingredients label.

Tootsie Pops Ingredients List:

  • Sugar
  • Corn Syrup
  • Palm Oil
  • Citric Acid (May Contain Malic Acid)
  • Condensed Skim Milk
  • Cocoa
  • Whey
  • Artificial And Natural Flavors
  • Soy Lecithin
  • Artificial Colors (Including FD&C Red 40, Yellow 5, Blue 1), Strawberry Powder.

You may also want to see Are Mike and Ikes gluten free.

Disclaimer image

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *