If you love candy, chances are you have enjoyed candy made by the Hershey Company. They make so many popular candies. Whether you have a sweet tooth or need to know what Halloween candy is safe for gluten free, I have you covered with this master list of Gluten Free Hershey Candy.

Several types of Hershey candies on a table.

Why This List Is Great:

  • I include all of the candies Hershey’s makes that are gluten free, including what varieties, shapes, and holiday versions.
  • I share the candies that Hershey’s does not include on their gluten free allergen list. I list whether the candy has wheat or barley or if it is a cross-contamination issue.
  • This will make it quick and easy to determine if Hershey’s candy is safe. No scrolling through pages of data on the Hershey website.
  • Use this list when sorting your kids’ Halloween candy. It is also helpful for other big candy holidays like Christmas and Easter.
  • This is part of a safe gluten free Halloween candy list I am developing for each.

Be sure to read all of my researched Candy List to know what candy is safe for those on a gluten free diet.

What Is The Hershey Company?

Hershey’s is a large candy company that manufactures dozens of popular candy brands ranging from chocolate to chewing gum. You can find their candies for sale anywhere you would find candy: gas stations, convenience stores, grocery stores, pharmacies, movie theaters, and vending machines.

To make Halloween and other holidays less stressful, I have compiled a list of candy by Hershey’s below. This way, you can find out quickly if one of their candy brands is gluten-free. Hershey’s website has a great list, but you need to search over many pages to find the candy you are trying to look up. My list will save you time and energy!

I will be honest; I was very surprised some of the Hershey candy brands are not gluten free. Mr. Goodbar is a good example of a candy that is not gluten free, according to their site. It contains no obvious gluten ingredients.

A photo of kids trick or treating getting candy.

You can look up all of Hershey’s Gluten Free Candy on their website on their allergen list.

The Hershey’s Gluten Free Candy List:

  • Almond Joy – Classic-Sized Almond Joy Bars, King-Sized, Minis, and Snack-Sized Almond Joy Bars are gluten free.
  • Brookside Chocolate Covered Fruit – All flavors of their chocolate-covered fruit are gluten free.
  • Heath Candy Bars – All Heath Bar sizes and their baking bits are gluten free.
  • Hershey’s Chocolate Chips and Hershey’s Kitchen Chips – Butterscotch, 25% less sugar, Cinnamon, Cream Cheese Chips, Milk Chocolate Chips, Sea Salt Caramel, Semi-Sweet, and Zero Sugar are gluten free.
  • Hershey’s Kisses – All flavors, including Valentine’s Day, Chocolate, Black Foil, Candy Cane, Cherry Cordial, Conversation Foils, Easter Milk Chocolate, Egg Hunt, Fall Harvest, Holiday Caramel, Holiday Milk Chocolate, Milk Chocolate, Milk Chocolate Filled, Grinch, Mint Truffle Candy, Monster Foils, Santa Hat Foils, Special Dark, Valentine’s Caramel, and the Mini Kisses are gluten free.
  • Hershey Candy Bars – Milk Chocolate, Milk Chocolate with Almonds,
  • Hershey Nuggets – Extra Creamy, Toffee & Almond, Milk Chocolate, Chocolate with Almonds, Special Dark, and Special Dark with Almonds are gluten free.
  • Milk Duds – Original Milk Duds, Milk Duds Bunny Tails, and Holiday editions are gluten free.
  • Mounds – All sizes of Mounds are gluten free.
  • PayDay – Original and King Size are gluten free.
  • Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups – Original flavor in all sizes, Big Box of Love, Holiday Peanut Brittle, Big Cup, Potato Chips, Peanut Butter Cups with Pretzels (not their coated pretzels), Dark Chocolate, Easter Minis, Easter White Cream, Fast Break Milk, Franken Cup, Glow In The Dark, Holiday Milk Chocolate, Mallow Top Marshmallow Cream, and Dark Chocolate Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups are gluten free.
  • Reese’s Pieces – All sizes, Peanut Butter Baking Cups, Minis, Big Cup stuffed with Reese’s Pieces, and Ultimate Peanut Butter Lovers are gluten free.
  • Rolo Candy – Original, Dark, Salted Caramel, Easter, and Holiday Creamy Caramels are gluten free.
  • Skor Candy Bars are gluten free.
  • York Peppermint Patties – Original Size, King Size, Snack Size, Easter, Fall Harvest, Halloween, and Snowflakes shapes are gluten free.
  • Lily’s Sugar-Free Chocolate – ALL Lily’s varieties are certified gluten free.
An unwrapped Mr Goodbar.
Mr. Goodbar is not gluten free, according to Hershey’s.

Hershey Candy That is NOT Gluten Free:

Hershey also has a lot of candy that they manufacture that is not gluten free. Some candies have no obvious gluten-containing ingredients, like Jolly Ranchers, and others have obvious gluten, like Kit Kats. Some have potential red flag words like gum base, wheat, barley malt, etc.

  • Bubble Yum – Gum Base
  • Hershey’s Peanut Butter Covered Pretzels – This is a new product. Don’t buy it.
  • Jolly Ranchers – No obvious gluten ingredients/potential cross-contamination?
  • Whoppers – Malt and Wheat
  • Kit Kat – Wheat
  • Good & Plenty – Wheat
  • Cadbury – Varies by flavor
  • Hershey’s Mr. Goodbar – No obvious gluten ingredients/potential cross-contamination?
  • Hershey’s Symphony – No obvious gluten ingredients/potential cross-contamination?
  • Hershey’s Krackle – Wheat
  • Zagnut – No obvious gluten ingredients/potential cross-contamination?
  • Twizzlers – Wheat
  • 5th Avenue – No obvious gluten ingredients/potential cross-contamination?
  • Whatchamacallit – Malt extract.
  • Ice Breakers Mints – No obvious gluten ingredients/potential cross-contamination?
  • Zero – Malt and Wheat

You can check out individual types of candies on my blog too! Are DOTS gluten free is good to read if you love DOTS.

Disclaimer image

Your go-to haven for gluten-free living, where I share hundreds of delicious, family-friendly recipes, helpful gluten-free resources, and allergen-friendly options for everyone!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

7 Comments

    1. You can read more about it on their website. I am assuming you mean the Reeces Peanut Butter Cups with pretzels. I was surprised too, but they are using gluten free pretzels. I just checked on Hershey’s site and those are gluten free. I see they added a coated pretzel and that specific item is not gluten free. I will update the post about their new product. Thank you!

  1. Hershey’s website says Ice Breakers and Cadbury (several items) are gluten free. I’ve never had issues and I’m highly sensitive. I’m curious why you state they aren’t. Thanks!