York Peppermint Patties are chocolaty on the outside with a creamy peppermint cream center. They are a popular candy that has been around for a long time. If you are gluten-free, be sure to find out: Are York Peppermint Patties Gluten-Free?

A york peppermint patty in its packaging on the table.

Answer: Are York Peppermint Patties Gluten Free?

Yes, most York Peppermint Patty varieties are gluten-free. NOTE: NOT all varieties are gluten-free! It is very important to read the label. As you can see in the photo below the patties, the patties are labeled gluten free right on the back of the package.

What Are York Peppermint Patties?

York Peppermint Patties are made by Hershey’s Chocolate Company (aka Hersheyland). They were created in 1940 and sold by the York Cone Company. Hershey acquired York in 1988. It is estimated that Hershey makes 1.5 billion York Peppermint Patties each year! They are trendy and fun.

This candy is known for its large circular shape and the creamy peppermint filling. You can also find both Peppermint Patty minis and shapes!

These peppermint patties are sold at grocery stores, pharmacies, convenience stores, gas stations, and movie theaters. They are also given out at Halloween, so if you have kids with food allergies, verifying what candies are gluten-free is critical.

Those who are gluten-free must avoid foods containing wheat, barley, and rye. If you have celiac disease, gluten intolerance, or gluten sensitivity, you must also become an expert in label reading to identify hidden gluten!

Be sure to check my Candy List to see what candies are gluten-free. You can also check to see Are Candy Corn Gluten Free and Are Milk Duds Gluten Free for more safe candy ideas.

The back label of a york peppermint patty.
Some products are gluten free. Others are not, so always check the label!

Note: Not all York products are gluten free!

According to their website, York Minis and York Shapes are NOT gluten-free!! If you find minis or shapes in your kids’ trick-or-treat bags, you must either give them away or toss them in the trash. They are not safe for those who are gluten-free for medical reasons.

YORK Peppermint Patties and YORK Sugar-Free are gluten-free. However, other YORK products such as YORK Minis and YORK Shapes are not gluten-free.”

See what Hershey has on their website:

What is odd to me is Hershey shows the “snowflake-shaped” York Peppermint Patties are labeled gluten-free on their website. You must read each shape/size Peppermint Patty label to ensure it is safe.

There are no gluten ingredients in the Minis that I can see, but this candy is definitely not labeled gluten-free. This leads me to think the minis are made on shared equipment.

More Candy Research:

Disclaimer image

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


  1. This was very confusing! Dis not really answer if York snowflakes are gluten free!! To someone who has celiac that is critical!!!!
    Should be labeled better!!

    1. I agree, York should do a better job at labeling products. I also agree that York should consider just using the same recipe with the shapes so it is clear they are gluten free.