It’s creamy, it’s cheesy, and it’s spreadable - it’s cream cheese! This creamy cheese spread tastes amazing with good gluten free bagels, in dips, or a gluten free cheesecake. It has a slightly mild sweet flavor.
Cream cheese is a packaged food that has a mild but tangy flavor that is delicious. But is cream cheese gluten free? Read on to find out more about if the cream cheese is gluten free.
What Is Cream Cheese?
In the United States, there are many brands of cream cheese, both regular and dairy-free. Philadelphia Cream Cheese is one of the most popular brands, but many others exist.
The history of cream cheese is quite interesting. As with most of the truly great inventions, cream cheese was first created by accident. A cheesemaker was trying to make the European cheese, Neufchâtel. They accidentally added a bit too much cream and made what we now call cream cheese.
It is truly a yummy mistake that really took off! The spreadable soft cheese is made with milk and cream. The cheese spread has a mild taste, a subtle tang, and a smooth texture.
Cream cheese can be used in various recipes, from savory dishes to sweet ones. As the popularity of cream cheese has grown, brands like Philadelphia have begun to make flavored cream cheese. Cream cheese frosting is another fun way to use cream cheese.
Check to see what condiments are gluten free.
Answer: Is Cream Cheese Gluten Free?
Yes! cream cheese and other brands of cream cheese are gluten free. As of now, most brands do not have issues with cross-contamination. The only ingredients in cream cheese are fresh milk, cream cheese cultures, carob bean gum, and salt. Which are all naturally gluten free ingredients.
Most grocery stores carry several brands of cream cheese, including dairy-free and vegan cream cheese, for you to choose from. Cream cheese is stored in the store section with dairy products that need to be refrigerated.
You can also typically find both regular full-fat cream cheese, lactose-free, and low-fat cream cheese varieties.
The Philadelphia brand is a popular brand of cream cheese. It is a part of Kraft, which provides all ingredients of their products on their website. Therefore, if any ingredients have gluten, they will be labeled as such. Kraft is very good about labeling allergens on its packaging, so you know Philadelphia cream cheese is gluten free.
Thankfully, Kraft is very strict regarding manufacturing plants and suppliers. So, all those with Celiac Disease or gluten intolerance can rest easy knowing their cream cheese hasn’t come in contact with gluten.
Philadelphia cream cheese now comes in many different flavors and varieties. Most of these flavors of Philadelphia cream cheese use natural fruits and flavorings, so they don’t have gluten. However, it is best to look at the ingredient label to ensure.
With any food product that is not certified gluten free, read the ingredient list to look for major allergens before buying any cream cheese brand for those with severe gluten sensitivity. Some brands add additional ingredients like guar gum, and food starch, and vegan brands have many more ingredients than traditional dairy cream cheese, so always read the labels.
Cream cheese is typically eaten with gluten-filled foods like bagels or crackers. Of course, there are many great gluten free bagel brands on the market, and you can always make gluten free bagels!
Philadelphia has started selling snack packs with gluten-containing ingredients, so you may want to watch out for these products. Everything else is good to go!
Gluten Free Cream Cheese Brands:
Most cream cheese brands are gluten free, so you don’t have only to buy Philadelphia cream cheese. Some brands declare allergens or have a gluten free label, but many do not, as it is not a food that commonly has gluten.
Ingredients may change over time, so check the ingredients list in case. Here is a list of gluten-free cream cheese brands you may enjoy (including vegan cream cheese).
- Prairie Farms Original Cream Cheese
- Great Value Cream Cheese
- Crystal Farms Original Cream Cheese
- Daiya Foods Plant-based Cream Cheese
- Lucerne Cream Cheese
- Organic Valley Cream Cheese
- Happy Farms Original Cream Cheese
- Kite Hill Dairy-Free Cream Cheese
- Tofutti Vegan Cream Cheese
Don't forget to check out Is Butter Gluten Free too!
Philadelphia cream cheese and most of its varieties are gluten free and safe to eat for those who don’t eat gluten. However, always check the labels and ingredients list in case, especially for flavored cream cheese products.
Recipes Using Cream Cheese:
If you love the recipes you find on my blog, I would love for you to sign up for my newsletter (and get my free gluten free lemon dessert e-cookbook!)
This post was updated from an older June 2015 post with more details and easier-to-follow directions.