Everyone loves sprinkles. They add color and fun to everything you bake! What brands are gluten free sprinkles, and where can you find them? Let’s talk about decorating sprinkles so everyone can safely enjoy their baking and holiday baking!

Rainbow sprinkles spread out.

Sprinkle Some Joy: The Power of Sprinkles in Baking and Beyond is the title I would have chosen for this post if long titles were a thing. There is something about sprinkles and the joy they make us feel. They add color and mood to our baked goods and help us make baked goods more festive.

I originally wrote this post in July 2020, and since the original post was written, quite a few new brands of gluten free sprinkles have hit the market, including a few keto brands.

Are you just learning about gluten free ingredients, flour blends, etc.? You will want to check out all of my great information on gluten free pantry essentials.

Are Sprinkles Gluten Free?

We use sprinkles to decorate desserts for so many holidays that I wanted to investigate what brands of sprinkles are safe. Colored sprinkles could be made on shared equipment and may be okay for many who are gluten-sensitive or gluten-intolerant, but they are not celiac-safe.

If you are gluten free, it is critical to know whether the sprinkles brand you choose is gluten free and safe from cross-contamination.

Sprinkles come in various sizes, from very tiny colored sugar to larger and more substantial sizes and shapes. They can be sprinkled on top of desserts or mixed into the batter to create a funfetti effect, where the sprinkles are visible throughout the baked good.

Green, red, and white circle shaped sprinkles.

What Brands Of Sprinkles Are Gluten Free?

  1. Sweetapolita Sprinkles come in lots of different color combinations and shapes. They have Jingles of Joy sprinkles, perfect for Christmas, and lots of rainbows and other holiday-themed sprinkles. Note these contain soy.
  2. Unpretentious Baker makes a few varieties of gluten free sprinkles for baking. They have packets of single-color sprinkles, rainbow-color combinations of sprinkles, and holiday sprinkles. Note this brand of sprinkles does contain soy.
  3. Supernatural Brand is perfect for anyone with an intolerance to food coloring. They use all-natural, non-toxic food colorings in their line of candy sprinkles. There are no preservatives or unnatural ingredients. Everything is food-based color. Their colors are not as vivid as brands that use chemical food dyes.
  4. Betty Crocker Sprinkles do not contain gluten, according to their website.
  5. Judee’s Natural Rainbow Sprinkles are gluten free.
  6. Watkins Decorating Sprinkles are gluten free.
  7. A Great Surprise brand is another natural sprinkle that doesn’t contain any preservatives or dyes. They are gluten free and vegan.
  8. Although Chef’s Select only carries rainbow sprinkles, it has a certified gluten-free sprinkle.
  9. Sweet Eva’s Sprinkles are gluten free, according to their website. They are also naturally colored.
  10. ColorKitchen makes sprinkles that are also plant-based, vegan, and soy-free.
  11. Stoka Keto Sprinkles are gluten free, dairy-free, sugar-free, and vegan.
  12. Betty Crocker – one of my readers let me know that Betty Crocker sprinkles jars have gluten free printed on them. This is great news!
  13. Cake Mate – Here is a link to their FAQ.
  14. If you are keto, check out these People’s Keto gluten free sprinkles.
  15. Walmart labels their private label sprinkles gluten free on the label.

This is a nice long list, and there are TONS of great options for you to choose from for all your candy sprinkles needs.

There are so many types of sprinkles. Sprinkles come in all shapes and sizes, including round, flat, round, and tiny stick shapes. You can also buy them in special shapes like stars, unicorns, balls, and holiday shapes!

Many are unique sprinkles shapes, while some are more common, like funfetti! If you love to bake, please check out my Gluten Free Baking Tips.

A wooden spoon filled with rainbow colored circle sprinkles.

Sprinkles FAQ:

What are sprinkles made of?

Sprinkles are made with sugar, food coloring,

Are Wilton sprinkles gluten free?

Unfortunately, no. Wilton sprinkles may not be gluten free. Wilton manufactures their sprinkles and melting wafers on shared equipment with wheat. Many look at their labels, don’t see gluten-containing ingredients, and assume that Wilton sprinkles are okay, but they aren’t safe if you are Celiac.

Are Betty Crocker sprinkles gluten free?

Yes, according to the Betty Crocker website, their sprinkles are gluten free.

Are there any gluten free keto sprinkles?

Yes, there are two brands of keto sprinkles that are gluten free. These brands are Stoka Keto Sprinkles and People’s Keto Sprinkles.

Are there any naturally colored sprinkles that are gluten free?

Several natural sprinkle brands make gluten free sprinkles. Check out Watkins, Judee’s Natural Sprinkles, and Sweet Eva’s Sprinkles.

You will love using sprinkles in these Halloween Gluten Free Chocolate Cookie Cups!

Ways To Use Sprinkles:

Here are some of our favorite uses, including a few out-of-the-box ways:

  • First, the most obvious way to use sprinkles is to top cupcakes, cakes, and cookies with frosting.
  • Mix them into the cookie to make gluten free funfetti cookies.
  • Decorate cakes like this gluten free vanilla cake with sprinkles.
  • Add sprinkles to waffles for a colorful treat.
  • Make a piñata cake or cupcakes. You can fill the gluten free cupcake with sprinkles.
  • You can chocolate dip cookies or gluten free biscotti and add sprinkles before the chocolate dries like in these gluten free butter cookies.

If you are new to gluten free living, don’t forget to check out all of my tips for gluten free living. This guide helps give you the information you need to succeed in gluten free living.

Fearless Dining

Your go-to haven for gluten-free living, where I share hundreds of delicious, family-friendly recipes, helpful gluten-free resources, and allergen-friendly options for everyone!

5 Comments

  1. We order top 14 allergen free sprinkles (made in a dedicated facility too!) from Kate’s Safe and Sweet. They’re also free from artificial dyes. They have two sprinkle options – the regular ones are great, the “deep” color one is ok too, but if you’re sensitive to the natural flavors of the herbs that are used to color it, those might come through more there.

  2. I have Celiac Disease. It’s a shame that all the sprinkles I have are probably gluten. I hate Celiac Disease. I love to make spritz cookies at Christmas. Do you think this recipe would work for those cookies. Should I buy the super fine flour or use my 1-1 flour I have.

    1. I feel confused about your post. You start the article by talking about the difference between being safe for celiac and not, like shared equipment or facilities. I was so hopeful when I read that because my family and I can’t have anything on shared equipment and must have certified gluten-free/dedicated facility foods.
      But your list contains products that are not safe. Just because they have “gluten-free” written on them doesn’t mean they are certified / have a dedicated processing facility. Certified gluten free is tested for 10 parts per million or five parts per million (depending on the test). The requirements around putting gluten-free on your product are circumspect and can even include ingredients that are derived from wheat.

      1. I do understand what you are saying. It is hard. There is no one brand of sprinkles that are truly certified gluten free. I have searched high and low and called multiple companies. If you are truly not able to have something that has been through independent certified gluten free testing, you probably need to avoid sprinkles to stay safe. My daughter and I are Celiac and we have not reacted to many of the brands on this list. We do react to some sprinkles like Wilton sprinkles that are made on shared equipment. If you ever find a true gluten free sprinkle company, please let me know and I will update this post with their info.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *